Perishable Item- A new start.

I decided it was time to start a new blog when I decided I am definitely going to leave New York.  I don’t know when, I don’t know where I am going, but I know that  it is time to start making those decisions.  Okay well maybe I’m not 100% sure I am leaving, but something big needs to happen, a change of some sort and I don’t really see that happening here.  Again, not sure what this change is, but it is time to start actively seeking that change.  I also knew that meant doing all those things I meant to do during the first five years I’ve been in the city.  Not that I didn’t do many things during those years, but there are plenty of things that I never got around to and maybe I should have started this sooner, but I want to document them.

I was already toying with the idea of  expanding my existing blog, Connect via Recipes.  I have a lot of little side projects that I do and I tell people about them, but never really show them.  Plus, there are all the experiences that I wanted to share here and there, pictures promised that I never sent.  I just didn’t feel that my existing blog was set for that kind of posting, so I decided a newblog was the way to go.  I have added all of my Connect via Recipe posts to Perishable Item, so it would be easy to manage.  The one problem was I didn’t know what I wanted to call this new blog.

Then I saw this post on Apartment 34.  The image and the words stuck to me and I couldn’t stop thinking about them.  I guess they just really struck home with all the ideas that have been spinning in my mind.  I really like the concept of thinking about yourself as a perishable item- we are.  You only have so much time, and you should enjoy it.  It might not always be happy go lucky or easy, but you shouldn’t feel restless, like somethings missing or your stuck.  I need to make a change, I feel stagnant.  I can’t keep wasting time in a place that I feel stuck in, that never leads to anything good.  So this blog will continue to have regular recipe posts and new ones about all the things I’m doing that are, (I hope you find), interesting and the changes that are coming.

Inspiration via Apartment 34

