Montauk Day Trip

Earlier this year, a couple of my friends took a trip out to Montauk, if it had been colder it would have been a bit more like Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  I had been wanting to do this exact thing, but had never gotten around to it.  For those of you who do not know, Montauk is at the far east tip of Long Island.  As far east as you can go in New York.  On one side you have the Atlantic Ocean and the other is the Block Island Sound.  You can see Rhode Island and Connecticut from the north side of the point.  I’ve been out a few times in the summer but never winter.  My friend C and I have been planning a bunch of little trips out of the city and this was one we wanted to do.  A couple Fridays ago, C asked, “Hey when are we going to Montauk?”  I said, “Tomorrow?”

So we looked up the train schedule, made sure we could take our bikes on it, and set a time to meet in the morning.  It’s definitely a bit of a long ride out, but for the most part it is a beautiful ride.  We arrived in Montauk around noon and headed straight to the beach.  The sun was so nice and warm, we took our shoes off, dipped our toes in the not-as-freezing-as-I-would-have-though water and took a nice walk along the beach barefoot.

Montauk Beach

C headed into the water

After the beach we grab some lunch at a great local bar and restaurant, Shagwong.  It was an awesome establishment, the people and the food.  I don’t really know how to describe it, but you should definitely check it out.  I even ate fish.  Me.  A fried flounder sandwich and it was good.  If you know me, you know I rarely touch fish and often have the gag reflex when I am near it.

Last we headed out of town to the lighthouse.  Of course, the lighthouse was closed, my third try and I still missed it.  But it was a gorgeous day and we walked around and enjoyed some needed hot coffee.  We had a just enough time to get back to the train station for the 5:30 train back to the city.  It was a much hillier road out than I ever remembered.  Definitely should have been riding a bit more than not at all before that 10 mile ride, just for future reference.

The Lighthouse

We had just enough time to enjoy the day and not really feel rushed.  It was a much needed escape from the city in one day and an easy one at that.  It was a definite switch from the times I had been out there in the summers.  There were so few people out.  You could see the leftover from bonfires here and there along the beach.  I think the crew may need to rent a house out there again as we have in past summers, but this time in the winter.

End of a great day!

