Sausage and Arugula Pizza

Growing up in the mid-west, it’s safe to say that I loved Pizza Hut pan crust pizzas and breadsticks, as many others do.  Clarification: I still love Pizza Hut.  But, let’s be honest, there were not too many local specialty pizza places in South Dakota.  Mom would make pizza at home from time to time, but with four picky eaters, it wasn’t like she branched out much beyond pepperoni or hamburger.  In Bozeman, there was Mac River, which was delicious and got me to branch out my pizza toppings, but otherwise it was just your typical pizza places.

Fast forward to New York.  You are immersed in a world of pizza snobs.  Everyone knows were the best slices are and then there are those that will tell you that New York has nothing on New Haven.  It’s pretty serious.  People wait over an hour for pizza at a place like Grimaldi’s.  I have not had the motivation to do this yet, but I will before I leave.  My favorite slice is Fornino’s Lombardi with mozzarella, arugula, prosciutto and fresh shaved parmesan cheese.  There are also several places that make an amazing slice of margarita pizza. Safe to say I’ve be come a bit of a snob, but will definitely eat a cheap slice from the crap place down the street and I still love Pizza Hut:)

That said, I have been experimenting with my own pizzas at home.  I came across this recipe in Martha Stewart Living.  It would be like my favorite New York, (let’s be honest Brooklyn, pizza- Manhattan’s got nothing on Brooklyn), slice with sausage instead of prosciutto.  It seemed simple enough too.  I intended to follow the recipe closer, but I forgot to write down what I would need when I went shopping, so it was bit more made up as I went.  It turned out really good.  I stored it without the arugula on top so it didn’t get mushy gross and had it for lunch the next few days.  The only thing I want to change for next time is to get a more hot sausage instead of sweet.

Sausage and Arugula Pizza

Sausage and Arugula Pizza

4 servings 

  • 6 ounces sweet Italian Sausage
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 frozen pizza dough, thawed- follow package directions (or make your own if you have time)
  • 1- 8 oz can of tomato sauce
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • course salt
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 4 oz freshly mozzarella, thinly sliced
  • 5 oz arugula
  • fresh shave parmesan
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Remove sausage from casing and saute over high heat until just cooked through, 3 to 4 minutes.  Break in to bite sizes pieces.
  3. Brush a pizza baking dish/ pan (about 12 to 14 inch) with the olive oil and press the dough flat on the pan, spreading to the edge.
  4. Combine the tomato sauce, garlic cloves, salt and red pepper.  Spread over dough.
  5. Bake in the oven until the bottom is golden brown, about 10 to 15 minutes.
  6. Scatter the sausage and mozzarella on top of the tomato sauce and bake until the cheese melts and the edges are golden, about 8 minutes.
  7. Garnish with arugula and parmesan.

Enjoy!

