Pizza-Off [Fruit Pizza]

On Saturday we had our 5th Cook-off. There have been many ideas for what we should do next, but this one came from a tweet a friend sent me after I posted up my Sausage and Arugula Pizza recipe wanting to know what the next “off” was going to be. We had not had an Off since the Beet-Off in the fall- I was a bit behind. So it I decided Pizza. Done.

Normally I will do some test runs before hand of different recipes I want to use for and Off. I mean, there are some serious trophies at stake here. After the Beet-Off, I was holding the Best in Show trophy and I didn’t really want to give it up. Unfortunately, I have been really busy and only gave people a weekish notice about this Off and I wasn’t all with it, so I didn’t do any trial runs. Besides, I never make any thing I try before hand, I always make something new, so what’s the point really? I decided I wanted to make my mom’s fruit pizza. She has not made it in a long time, but I just remember it being so good. I called for the recipe the night before at midnight, (10PM Mountain time).

Can you follow it?

We debated whether or not it was the right one, because she thought she made it with cream cheese and powdered sugar, but this recipe was with vanilla yogurt. There was no other recipe, so it had to be it, and in any case, I was going to run with it no matter what. It was midnight the night before the competition, after all.

Saturday ended up being a bit hectic before the Off. As you can see from my previous post, it was the Red Hook Immersion, and despite the fact that I was suppose to be home around 4PM, I didn’t leave Red Hook until 6PM, the time people were suppose to be showing up. Of course by saying it started at 6, I assumed no one would be here until 8. This was sort of true. And I would have been home sooner, if I hadn’t found my bike with a flat tire and no tools to fix it or nearby bike shop so I had to wait for a car that never came before giving up and going to Ikea to get one there. Good thing this recipe is quick and easy to make. While I was dealing the dough and sauce part, my friend Thomas cut the fruit for me. It maybe took and hour at most to assemble the whole thing and throw it in the fridge to cool while we waited for everyone else to get here. We ended up starting around 8:30. Good thing I had another friend whip up some Avocado Dip for everyone who was on timeish.

The Spread

There were several savory pizzas and only two sweet, which surprised me, because I would have thought there would have been a couple more. All of the pizza’s were pretty tasty. Even the ones with ingredients that I am not a fan of like, lox. It made it pretty hard to pick out my favorites for voting. In the end, Melissa’s Aspargus, Procuitto, and Egg Pizza took us all out for the Best of Show. Hillary’s Nutella Cream Cheese Calzones with Strawberry Sauce beat out my Fruit Pizza by one vote for the Beat Sweet and the Taco Pizza by Chris and Pilar took home the Best Savory. Good work winners, your going down in the next round!

The Remains

The Winners

Fruit Pizza

Serves 16

  • 16.5 oz refrigerated sugar cookie dough
  • 2 cups vanilla yogurt
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp grated lemon peal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tsp corn starch
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 fresh lemon juice
  • 4 – 5 cups of cut fruit, my favorites are kiwi, strawberries, red grapes, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and Mandarin oranges
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Roll out the cookie dough to be about 1/8 ” thick and to fit your pan- mine was a 12″ round pizza pan (for once I actually had the right thing?!?! Crazy).  Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the dough just starts to brown.
  3. Meanwhile, mix the yogurt, eggs, flour and lemon peal together in a small dish.  Spread over the crust once it is done. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the mixture has set and the dough is brown.
  4. Let the dough and sauce cool when done baking.  If your fruit is not cut, this is the time to do it, I like to slice the strawberries and kiwis thin and halve the grapes.
  5. Mix the sugar, corn startch and water over medium heat in a small sauce pan.  Bring to a boil and stir frequently until the mixture starts to thicken.  Remove from heat and set aside.
  6. Arrange the fruit as you wish on your pizza.
  7. Mix the lemon juice into the sugar-water mixture.  Using a pastry brush, gently brush the glaze all over the fruit.
  8. Let cool in the fridge until ready to serve, usually good to give it an hour or so to really cool down.

Enjoy!

Fruit Pizza (the kiwi is hiding in the middle!)

