The New Job!

The new job… OH MY GOD I HAVE A NEW JOB.  Seriously.  I don’t even know how to properly explain the significance of such a thing.  For those of you who know me, you know what I’m talking about.  It is amazing to want to go to work, to not feel ridiculous stress every time your boss is in the office for fear of explosion at any minute, to really enjoy what you’re doing.  I had a mini revelation about a year or so ago after spending the morning working on a design with the engineer at their office.  I didn’t want to leave and it wasn’t just because I didn’t want to go back to my office, it was because I was really enjoying what I was doing and who I was doing it with.  I called my mom on the way back to my office practically crying to say, “I do like what I do! I’m not crazy! I do want to be an architect.  I just need to do it somewhere else.”  The fact that I needed to do it somewhere else had been known for awhile.  I just had not realized how much my work environment was poisoning my desire to be an architect and enjoy doing it.

I’ve been at my new office for a little over a week and so far I still love it.  Melissa has warned me of the quirks that are bound to come out of people, but I’m sure mine will come out too.  It is just so much more enjoyable place to be.  They have a water cooler and an Nespresso machine and listen to music.  No one tattles like a child when you five minutes late back from lunch and are not invisibly competing to be the teacher pet, a game I don’t play well.  Like me or don’t.  I don’t do well with sucking up long term.  So this place, as far as I’m concerned, it’s awesome.  And it’s always nice to have a friend working across the desk divide.

The work is also nice, clean design.  No more landmarks, I mean beyond a few window changes or something simple, I get to pretend the LPC does not exist and I like it.  A LOT.  Not spending 90 percent of my effort trying to design something that will offend them the least is sooooooo nice.  I admit that interior renovations of townhouses and apartments would not have been my first choice, but so far it’s been pretty fun.  I already have a townhouse that we just had a meeting with the client for this morning, that I am working with both partners on and this week we will measure an apartment that I will work on with one partner.  It’s really nice to start at the beginning and not be dropped in the middle.

Townhouse Via Platt Dana Architects

So the big question you may be asking is, “Does this change your big plans to make some big changes?”  My answer: No.  It’s all still going to happen… maybe just pushed back a few months.  While this was big big big, it’s not the work that I was doing that was pushing me to make big changes.  So the journey continues to see what else we can shake up.  The funny thing is, I was still applying at New York firms up until I was offered this job and since I started here, I’ve had two firms reach out to me for interviews.  I hope that means things are picking up.  Especially for all those who are still stuck in the unemployment rut and those who are stuck in similar situations.  It also makes me feel a bit better, because when you send out resume after resume after resume with no response, you start to really think you must be terrible, no matter how many times you tell yourself they are flooded with resumes and probably didn’t even read yours, (at one interview earlier this year I was told they had over 100 people apply for the job in less than a week!).  So as a final note for anyone who is trying to find something, don’t give up!  Something will give and it’s definitely looking up!

