Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

It’s one of my favorite times of year, rhubarb is in season!!!! My mom and sister made the family favorite, an amazing rhubarb torte that we practically live for every year.  I had to make it again this past weekend.  It’s so damn good.  I could write an entire post on how good it is.  But I don’t want you to feel bad for not getting any.  So instead I will tell you about the other rhubarb recipe I whipped up this weekend, rhubarb streusel muffins.

I have to say that I don’t like all the tracking at whatnot that google and the like are doing now, but I do love that when I google something like ‘rhubarb muffin,’ it brings up recipes from my favorite blogs, like Smitten Kitchen, where I found this recipe.  She never fails to deliver amazing recipes, so I did not bother to look any further for a different recipe.  I almost took them to the office on Monday with out even trying them yet, knowing they would be amazing.  Then I remembered my itsy bitsy half substitution, so I took a bit out of one quick before running out the door, determined the were in fact delicious.

Yummy test muffin!

What was this substitution you ask?  Well I didn’t have enough sour cream, I realized and I was running out of time if I was going to make it to my yoga class, so I used some vanilla yogurt, yes vanilla, not plain.  Probably half the sour cream was yogurt.  I mean I figured it was at least the same texture and type of ingredient, my only concern was taste, but I didn’t think they would be damaged by a bit of sweetness vs. sour.  They tasted fine, not extra sweet, although extra sweet is hard to do with rhubarb, I think.  I will have to try them sometime with all sour cream sometime but for now the recipe below is good.  I also took her tip and used half whole wheat and all-purpose flour.

Everything minus the yogurt:)

Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

makes 12 muffins

Struesel Mix

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Muffin Batter

  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled to lukewarm
  • 3/8 cup sour cream
  • 3/8 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup diced rhubarb, in 1/2-inch pieces (from about 6 to 8 ounces of stalks)
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Butter 12 muffin cups.
  2. Make streusel mix by mixing all the dry ingredients in a small dish.  Add butter and mix until crumbly. Set aside.
  3. Start making the muffin batter by whisking the egg in the bottom of a large bowl with both sugars. Whisk in butter, then sour cream and yogurt.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix together flours, baking powder and baking soda. Stir them into the sour cream mixture, mixing until just combined and still a bit lumpy.
  5. Fold in rhubarb and about 1/3 of the streusel mixture.
  6. Divide batter among prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle each muffin with remaining streusel, then use a spoon to gently press the crumbs into the batter so that they adhere.
  7. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until tops are golden and a tester inserted into the center of muffins comes out clean.
  8. Rest muffins in pan on cooling rack for two minutes, then remove muffins from tin to cool them completely.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Rhubarb Streusel Muffins

Comments are closed.