Oatmeal Currant Cookies

A few weekends ago the weather was absolutely perfect, in my world.  It was warm and sunny during the day and I needed blue jeans and a sweatshirt to sit outside at night.  I decided I was going to bake some cookies, a very rare occurrence during a New York summer when apartments are little sauna boxes.  It had been a while since I had time to do something that time consuming and I was feeling lazy the day after my ride to Montauk.

I wanted oatmeal cookies, but I don’t like raisins in them, so I decided to replace them with the dried currants I had leftover from making yummy scones.  I turned to good old Betty for my recipe and away we went.  The cookies turned out great and stayed great for a week.  They were the perfect chewy the way I like them and the currants worked fine.  In fact, since I will definitely be making these again, I might decrease the amount of cinnamon to about half, to see if it brings out the current taste a bit more.  It was pretty light, you knew they were there, but I would like a bit more flavor.  It also makes me want to experiment with other dried fruits in cookies.  Does anyone else have experience using other dried fruits in cookies?

Oatmeal Currant Cookies 

about 3 dozen cookies  

  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup dried currants
  1. Heat oven to 375°F.
  2. In large bowl or KitchenAid mixer, beat all ingredients except oats, flour and currants with electric mixer on medium speed, or mix with spoon.
  3. Stir in oats, flour and currants.
  4. On ungreased cookie sheet, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart.
  5. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until light brown.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

Enjoy!

