Fourth of July Prosecco Smoothies

This year for the Forth of July my little sister, Kristen, and her friend, Caitlin, were in town.  I’ll have more on their time here later, but I want to share a bit of our Fourth of July with you.  Because it was the Fourth, I knew we need to be able to really see the fireworks.  Ever since they moved them from the East River to the Hudson, our view from Brooklyn (and Queens) has been obscured by the city.  Last I checked they were the new York City fireworks, not new York/Nnew Jersey fireworks, but whatever.  I much prefer standing on a roof top to dealing with mega crowds and hours of waiting, so I was looking for a friend, friend who had a friend or office with a view of the river and fireworks.  I didn’t really want to travel to New Jersey but my friend Hillary offered up her rooftop in Jersey City, only two stops on the PATH train from World Trade Center and it was the best option by far.  She was worried we wouldn’t be able to see, but we could actually see all four sets.  And we had a sweet view of the moon rising over Manhattan too.

Now for the tasty stuff.  The day was extremely hot and the girls were not used to being drug all over a city.  We were all ready to sit and relax a bit with nice cold drink.  We stopped at Whole Food to pick up supplies for a picnic dinner that included Prosecco smoothies.  I saw the recipe on Apartment 34 by Johnathan Adler the day before and knew they must be tried as soon as possible.  They are redicilously easy to make and absolutely amazing. You can probably pick any three favors of sorbet to mix this up,  but I think having one be lemon or even lime is key.  Next time you’re sweating away on the front porch, mix this up.  It will make you feel much better.

Prosecco Smoothies

Makes 4 to 6 Servings

  • 14 oz. Ciao Bella Raspberry Sorbet
  • 14 oz. Ciao Bella Lemon Zest Sorbet
  • 14 oz. Ciao Bella Blackberry Cabernet
  • 1 bottle (14 oz) Prosecco
  1. Mix the sorbets in a large pitcher until well blended.
  2. Slowly pour the Prosecco in a bit a time mixing it completely in each time until entire bottle is mixed in.
  3. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Fourth of July Prosecco Smoothies

  1. Pingback: My Little Sister’s Trip to New York « Perishable Item

Comments are closed.