Chickpea Salsa

As you might recall I still have two cans of chickpeas to use up after my baking extravaganza for K’s birthday.  I was looking for my roasted chickpeas recipe when I came across a recipe in my binder of torn-out recipes for Chickpea and Red Pepper Salsa from Real Simple, the roasted recipe was in one of my cookbooks.   Anyway back to the salsa, it looked pretty easy and fast to mix up.  Plus there was going to be a BBQ that night, so I figured why not give it a try.  I still made a smaller batch of roasted chickpeas and had enough to double the salsa recipe.  I didn’t use scallions, I bought them then forgot them, and I did add onion and jalapeno to the recipe.  It’s really good salsa.  To mix up my usual grilled zucchini, I cut the zucchini in half, discarded the seeds, and filled the centers with the salsa and topped them with freshly grated Parmesan cheese then put them on the grill on medium heat for about 10 minutes, moving them around every few minutes so the bottoms didn’t burn.  They turned out great.  Highly recommend using the salsa and giving it a try!

Grilled Zucchini with Chickpea Salsa and Parmesan

Chickpea Salsa

Makes about 15 servings

  • 1  1lb- 13 oz can chickpeas, rinsed and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1 1/2  cup  arugula, chopped
  • 4 or 5  jarred roasted red peppers, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 4  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 4  tablespoons  extra-virgin olive oil
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  1. In a medium bowl, combine the chickpeas, scallions, arugula, red peppers, lemon juice, oil, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper.

Enjoy!

