Moving up the Ladder

So I said that I wanted to make some big changes here in the next year and things have been starting to slowly happen and take shape.  My latest big news is that I was elected to be the Managing Director for Architecture for Humanity NY.  For the past two years I have been the Director of Records, keeping track of all the files, projects, and money for the Chapter and now I have to keep track of all the people.  Who knows what the board was thinking electing me to do this job, but hopefully they weren’t wrong!  I have some big ideas for pushing the chapter forward and am really looking forward to working with a great Board of Directors and all of our awesome volunteers.

For those of you who do not know what Architecture for Humanity NY is, please let me explain.  We are the local chapter of Architecture for Humanity and we are committed to designing like we give a damn.  Everyone is a volunteer, even the directors.  We provided sustainable design, construction, and development services where they are most critically needed by partnering design professionals with organizations in need.  Right now we have over 1000 volunteers and are running eight projects.  Since our chapter was founded in 2003, we have completed over 40 local projects for underserved New York City communities.

For those of you who want to get involved with Architecture for Humanity NY, we would love to have you join us.  Just send me an email or comment below.  For anyone not in New York looking to get involved, there are 52 active chapters all over the world that you can volunteer with or you can volunteer for our parent organization.

Wish me luck! And my board, hopefully I don’t drive them all crazy!

Awesome infographic about Architecture for Humanity by Arch Daily

One thought on “Moving up the Ladder

Comments are closed.