A Day at the Minnesota State Fair [in New York]

So a few weekends ago on August 18th, I took a little trip to the Minnesota State Fair through New York.  Laura Carter, another fabulous director for Architecture for Humanity NY, and her partners-in-crime have created a day at the fair in New York for all the die hard fair fans who find themselves in the city and unable to get back to real thing.  Apparently the Minnesota State Fair is the shit,  the best in the country and they are very excited about it.  Since I have toyed with the idea of exploring Minneapolis as a potential next stop in life, I figured I should check out this state fair business.  It was awesome.  Let me share the five stops of awesomeness with you.

Full bar for MS State Fair Day!

Stop one: Pop Burger

Beer discounts, fried pickles, corn on the cob, and freshly fried doughnuts.  Do I really need to say more? How can you not want to stuff yourself silly with fried pickles on a regular basis?  Really I don’t know how I haven’t made it a lunch time habit since my office is around the corner.

Leading the Pack

Stop two: City Tavern 

Fresh baked Sweet Martha chocolate chip cookies and milk.  Yes, you read that correctly. They flew in the dough special to be baked for this great day and had milk.  I think I ate about 10 cookies and that is not an exaggeration.

Sweet Martha’s Cookies- I ate a whole bucket myself

Stop three: Woody McHale’s

Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat on tap and cheese curds.  Now, cheese curds to me are these tasty, little, squeaky, fresh cheese bites that we used to get at the cheese shop when I was younger and you can now sometimes find them in grocery stores at home.  Love them.  These cheese curds are fried.  A whole new level of love for cheese.  And we are not talking mozzarella sticks.  No, no, no.  These are lightly battered balls of greatness that combine one of my favorite foods with one my favorite ways to prepare food.  You’re mind will likely be blown.  Please proceed cautiously.

Delicious Cheese Curds

Fried Oreo

Stop four: Led Zeppole

This hole in the wall happens to have fried oreos and funnel cake.  I obviously already love fried oreos and funnel cake, but since the people I was with had never had fried oreos, multiple bags were necessary.  Thank goodness they are too sweet even for me to eat more than one every now and then or we would be twice our original size by now.

Pop Bars!

Stop five: Bar None

This was our final stop and Crif Dog supplied us with corn dogs and Pop Bar had gelato on a stick.  What a perfect way to end the day.  There were also drink specials and a lot of Prince on the jukebox.  I don’t think I have ever been to a better state fair and see you at the 2013 edition.

Prepping for Corn Dogs- that’s a lot of mustard and ketchup

