A Trip to Yankee Stadium

I finally made my way up to Yankee Stadium to see them take on the Orioles over Labor Day weekend with my brother.  “Take on” is probably the wrong thing to say since the Orioles destroyed the Yankees, much to my delight.  Let’s be honest, I wasn’t going up there because I love baseball.  I really could care less for it.  I went up there because I wanted to go to Yankee Stadium for the experience and I have to say, it was a big disappointment.

View from the Cheap Seats

Michael looking excited

I don’t know if it was the stadium itself or the game or what, but compared to the new Mets stadium, Citi Field or even the old one, Shea Stadium, it was really unimpressive.  I mean, I’ve actually had fun at a Mets game at both stadiums, this was just boring beyond boring.  To start, you had no idea where you were going, signage was pretty much non-existent, which clearly annoys me greatly.  It’s like going to an airport with no signs directing you to the gates. Evil.  Regarding the rest of the architecture, it was nothing special. Typical I guess, nothing I would have regretted not seeing.

Derek Jeter Striking Out

I already knew this going in, but the food was way over priced and unimpressive.  My brother and his friend didn’t even get beer.  At least at the Mets games you can get overprices microbrews and other things besides bud light and there is Shake Shack.  It is totally worth the lines during the game, (read above, not actually that interested in the sport), to get good beer and food for my cheap seats.  Christine also join us on this little trip to the Bronx and we decided that the Yankees don’t really doing anything to get you interested in the game between inning or other down times.  We never saw anyone do the wave, again, not something I am a huge fan of, but I thought it was mandatory.  The stadium was almost full at the start of the game, but once the Yankees started to fall behind the stadium was maybe half full. When they started to switch pitchers ever single batter (what the hell is that about??? Seriously! Drove me nuts!) one inning, maybe the seventh, we left and headed to Dinosaur BBQ.

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is in Harlem and right on the way home from the stadium and was definitely much more fun than the game.  We got there in the early evening without reservations on a Sunday, thought we were going to have to wait about 45 minutes, but then found a table in the bar area right away.  The first time I had this BBQ was in Rochester, New York while I was visiting.  It was really good and every time we biked past 125th Street on our way to Nyack or something, I would think, we need to get up here for more.  Mission finally accomplished and it was still as good as I remembered it being.  They have half pint beers which makes me happy and I had lunch for the next two days off my single platter order.  So good, I really should try to go there again.  Yankees Stadium, not so much, but I can check it off my list now.

Mac n’ Cheese, Sweet Potatoes, Cornbread, and Pulled Pork

