Whole Wheat Buttermilk Bacon & Maple Waffles

No I’m not kidding, such a thing exists.  Yes it is amazing.  You might want to try it out.  I sort of made this up after deciding I wanted to make Maple bacon waffles from a recipe in my binder, but I wanted to use this buttermilk I had leftover from something, so I used  this recipe on Everyday Food.  I was sending my brother and his friend out on their own for the day so I could get some work done while they were here and felt guilty so I made them a tasty breakfast.  Plus breakfast is one of my favorite meals anyway at any time of day, so I will probably make these for dinner some time soon.  In the mean time you should enjoy them as well.

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Bacon and Maple Waffles

4-6 servings

  • 4 strips of bacon
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups low-fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  1. Cook bacon in skillet over medium heat until crispy.  Set aside to cool on a plate with paper towels.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together buttermilk, butter, and eggs; add flour mixture, and mix just until batter is combined.
  4. Crumble cooled bacon into small pieces. Add to batter with syrup.
  5. Heat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions; brush with oil. Pour batter onto iron (amount depends on iron size), leaving a 1/2-inch border on all sides (spread batter if necessary). Close iron; cook until waffles are golden brown and crisp, 3 to 5 minutes.
  6. Keep warm in oven, on stove top or microwave until remaining waffles are done.
  7. Serve with more syrup, butter, peanut butter or any other favorite topping.

Enjoy!

