Pumpkin Monkey Bread

The week following Hurricane Sandy, there was no power at my office, so I had a lot of time to do whatever.  My poor cousin was stuck here, so I was trying to be a good hostess and make yummy breakfasts.  Guest’s shouldn’t be forced to eat bananas with almond butter every day.  Another of my fall favorites is anything with pumpkin.  I also have a great love of monkey bread.  One time my mom made some while we were at grandmas and I barely got any because everyone else ate it all.  She made me a new batch after my protesting her allowing my brother and dad to know she was even making them.  From there on out, I have been known to hide some for later snacking.  All this is to say that when I saw Baked Perfection’s recipe for Pumpkin Monkey Bread Muffins, I knew I had found a perfect combination.

I was a bit lazy and I don’t have a big muffin tin, so I put the pieces in a eight inch square pan instead.  I also changed the spices a little bit because I was a bit short. Opps. I baked them for longer than you would the muffins and they turned out really tasty.  The dough was really soft, so it was really messy to dip and roll.  In fact I did not have enough sugar an cinnamon or butter, so I had to mix extra up.  Maybe I was just being too generous.  I should probably try this as muffins, it might be a little better because I feel like the extra baking time dried it out a bit, but they were still really good!

So I know its not the best image, but seriously delicious.

Pumpkin Monkey Bread

6 to 8 servings

Bread

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp melted unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp mapleline

For cinnamon coating:

  • 6 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon + teaspoon cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.  And grease an 8×8″ baking pan.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl whisk together the milk, pumpkin, egg, 2 tablespoons melted butter, vanilla, and mapleline.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until combined. Batter will be a moist dough.
  4. Combine 1 cup up sugar and the 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon cinnamon in a small bowl.
  5. Drop rounded teaspoons of batter into the 6 tablespoons of melted butter. Once coated in butter, drop and roll in the cinnamon sugar mixture.
  6. Drop coated dough balls into the prepared pan, pressing down slightly. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes until the top spring back when touched.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Pumpkin Monkey Bread

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies « Perishable Item

Comments are closed.