Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had some leftover pumpkin after making Pumpkin Monkey Bread.  I hate when you have an odd amount of something leftover. Since a can of pumpkin is 15 ounces and you typically need a cup or half cup of puree, you are left with an odd amount.  In this case I had 7 ounces left.  I was craving cookies and chocolate so I decided I needed to make use of the pumpkin and some dark chocolate chips I had hiding in the freezer.  In my endless folder of cookie recipes was this on for Pumpkin Cookies from Simply Recipes.  Other recipes I had for actual pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, were too big, too complicated or something else, so I decided to modify the Simply Recipes one to suite my current pumpkin state and desire for chocolate.

For the most part I just cut the recipe by one quarter.  I didn’t cut the egg, since that is practically impossible.  I also used a slew of other spices instead of cardamom because I didn’t have any.  I put measurements below, but honestly, I just shook some in from the jar.  I added chocolate chips and chopped walnuts because I love walnuts in cookies too.  The result was delicious and chewy.  I probably should have added just a tiny bit more flour because they spread out quite a bit, but they maintained their chewiness  so maybe it doesn’t matter.  The real point of all of this is that I didn’t let the leftover pumpkin sit in the fridge, get pushed to the back, and go moldy in a couple weeks. Instead I made some awesome cookies that you should probably try.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies with Walnuts 

makes about 4 dozen

  • 3/4  cup butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 7 oz. cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cups quick or old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F.
  2. Beat the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
  3. Add the egg, vanilla, and pumpkin puree and beat for another 3 minutes.
  4. In a separate bowl combine the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and spices, whisk together. Slowly add it to the butter mixture until just combined, being sure to scrape down the sides and bottom once or twice to ensure even mixing.
  5. Fold in the chocolate chips and walnuts.
  6. Drop spoonfuls of dough on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for 13-15 minutes. Allow to cool on the tray for a minute or two to set, then move to a wire rack to finish cooling.

Enjoy!

 

