6th Annual Holiday Party & Peppermint Rice Krispies Balls

This year I did my annual candy and cookie party a little differently than in the past.  Normally everyone is baking, making, and finishing their treats to share at my place.  I am always dipping things in chocolate.  This year,  things have been a bit crazy, so I decided to do prep and dipping in the weeks leading up to the party, and just do more of an exchange party with lots of savory treats and cheese to counter all the sugar.  The party has also been getting kind of  big to have so many people trying to work in the kitchen, so it was time to mix it up a bit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI made some tasty Chocolate Covered Cookie Dough balls this year and decided to try two new recipes.  One was Trail mix balls from Eat Live Run, that I will share later, and Peppermint Rice Krispies Balls from She Wears Many Hats.  The rice krispies balls were so easy to make. The only thing I failed at was sticking the mini candy canes into the balls and getting them to stick. They kept falling out  or breaking the balls, so after a few attempts, I stopped trying.  I covered them in white almond bark, but ran out, so I ended up with a few chocolate covered ones.  They are really yummy and I highly recommend giving them a try.  I froze some extra ones to take to some parties early in the new year and they still taste fine.  So the point is, make some!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARice Krispie Balls (5)Peppermint Rice Krispie  Balls

Makes 24 to 36 balls

  • 1/4 Cup Butter
  • 1 10 Oz. Package Marshmallows
  • 1/3 Cup Crushed Candy Canes
  • 6 Cups Rice Krispies® Cereal
  • 1 package (1lb) of white almond bark
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium low heat.
  2. Add in the marshmallows and allow them to melt completely.
  3. Add in the crushed candy canes.
  4. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the Rice Krispies®.
  5. Pull out heaping tablespoons from the pan and roll into balls.
  6. Add a candy can into the center of each ball. ( I tried it at this stage an after the chilling phase and failed both times, but maybe you will have more luck!)
  7. Place your finished treats into the fridge for about 15 minutes to cool down.
  8. Melt the almond bark according to package directions.
  9. Dip your cooled treats into the bark, sprinkle or decorate, and set aside to cool and harden completely on wax paper.

Enjoy!

Rice Krispie Balls (6)

