Trying Something New

So this past weekend I did something so very simple for the first time. It was nothing ground breaking or very exciting, but there was something very wonderful about it.  I went to a movie all by myself.   I don’t know why I had this great desire to go see The Silver Linings Playbook  by myself but I did.  While I was home for Christmas I had read the book and really like it.  Normally I don’t like seeing a movie after just reading the book.  Very rarely is a movie better, and I need to give my brain time for the book to go a bit fuzzy so that I enjoy the movie.  For whatever reason, I just really wanted to see this film and I wanted to go to the theater alone.

 I know lots of people do this all the time and even though I don’t go to the movies often, I think I’m going to go by myself more often. There was simply something about doing something you normally do with others alone. It was so nice to go see what I wanted, when I wanted with out having to coordinate with others who want to go or see something else at a theater in the middle somewhere. Honestly, I don’t know if that was what made it great or not.  In reality, I went to the theater near by, but the tickets were already sold out, so I headed to the Brooklyn Height Cinema where it was playing a half hour later.  When I got there, I was a bit worried that it would be sold out as well, it turned out to only have two screens and comfy seats. Minus the slow slow slow refreshment stand, it was and adorable theater that I would love to go to again, even if it is a bit out of the way.  That’s what bikes are for. Maybe its a confidence thing.

Bottom line, I think you should all go to a movie alone some afternoon when you’re free.  Why not?  It’s a great little indulgence, I promise. Oh, and the movie was really good, not as good as the book of course, but they did an excellent job with it.  I hope it wins more awards!

Snacks required

Snacks required

2 thoughts on “Trying Something New

Comments are closed.