Squash Pizza with Pinenuts

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYes. Yes it is one more squash post.  Please don’t abandon me. I promise to mix it up, but as mentioned, I have a crush on squash. And this one is really good! I promise.  I started with a recipe from Real Simple that I found in my binder. I switched out the butternut squash for Delicata and the second time around, I used a yellow onion.  Still tastes great.  The fun part is, the second time I made it, I got to use my new food processor for the first time.  I think I am in love!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASquash pizzaSquash Pizza with Pinenuts

6 servings

  • 1  pound  store-bought pizza crust
  • 1 medium Delicata Squash—peeled, seeded, and cubed in 1/4 inch pieces
  • 1/2  red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4  cup  pine nuts
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh thyme leaves
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 1/2  cups  grated extra-sharp Cheddar (6 ounces)

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 425° F. Place crust on baking sheet.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the squash, onion, pine nuts, thyme, 1 tablespoon of the oil, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper.
  3. Scatter over the dough and sprinkle with the cheese. Bake until golden brown and crisp, 20 to 25 minutes.

Enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Squash Pizza with Pinenuts

  1. Pingback: Grapefruit Doughnuts « Perishable Item

Comments are closed.