Super Bowl Dip-Off: Chocolate Chip Dip

This was just the beginning. This table was over flowing with dips by the end.

This was just the beginning. This table was over flowing with dips by the end.

 

Two Sundays ago, we had an excellent Super Bowl Dip-Off party.  There were some very spicy dips, dips with bananas and peppers, with chocolate and graham crackers, blueberries and cheese. Needless to say that there many delicious dips and no one went hungry during the blackout. In the end a spicy gumbo dip took home the trophy for Best Overall Dip made by former Best Savory Pizza winner, Louisiana Chris. Best Savory went to new contenders, John and Liz for their sausage and cheese dip. K kept the title of Best Sweet with a s’more dip.

The ingredients

The ingredients

I was all over the place trying to decide what to make. I thought about making something similar to the sausage dip, my go to avocado dip, a hummus of some sort or something with a lot of cheese. In the end I went for a sweet dip, Chocolate Chip Dip to be exact and I must say I think it is delicious and maybe sort of healthy. No dairy gluten or processed sugar if you don’t want there to be. I didn’t do this on purpose, it just happened. The recipe is from Green Lite Bites via Pinterest.  I wish I had really read the post and clicked back to the blog where she got the recipe from, Chocolate Covered Katie. Katie’s recipe, which isn’t so healthy/has ingredients that are hard to find even in New York/ingredients that come in gallons and I want 2 tablespoons. After going through the store about 3 times, I finally found flax seed and didn’t even use it. I did use the almond milk because I bought it and in my world I assumed it would be better sitting out than dip made with regular milk. I may be crazy. In any case this stuff is good. And I think serving it with graham crackers seals the cookie dough flavor deal.  Pull out your food processor and get to making some edible* cookie dough!

Yummy!

Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

  • I can of chickpeas drained and rinsed
  • 1/8 tsp of salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp of Chunky Peanut Butter
  • 2 tbsp Honey
  • 3 tbsp oatmeal
  • About 1/4 cup of almond milk (I used vanilla flavored) 
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup mini chocolate chips
  • Graham crackers or vanilla cookies for dipping
  1. Put the chickpeas, salt, vanilla, peanut butter, honey and oatmeal in the food processor.
  2. Turn on and drizzle the milk in a little at a time.
  3. Pour in a bowl and stir in chocolate chips.
  4. Serve with graham crackers or vanilla flavored cookies

Enjoy!

* I totally eat regular cookie dough all the time. I have no fear of salmonella in such form. I have no problem eating cake batter, pancake and waffle batter,  or bread dough either. Bring it on.

PS: Check out Melissa recap here.

