Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date #2

021613 061If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you I can across this video via Because It’s Awesome and we must pause to watch it first thing:

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you again and again how much I love these shorts. Love them. I tried these on and love them in theory, but they are not made for people with curves. Sad. I think I would have love them just as much. Maybe I am going too hipster, I don’t know, but I still refuse to wear over sized glasses and I actually need glasses.

021613 028

Love, Love , Love

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I read one of the best books,  Hidden Wives and that you need to read it too. It might be slightly depressing, it’s true, but it is such an amazing novel about polygamy and two sisters trying to protect each other and their other siblings. The authors have done their research, so while it might not be a true story, it is a likely account of what can/does happen in such communities. I can’t imagine being 15 and “placed” by the priest as the wife of my uncle. Or believing something so strongly with out question knowing how questioned it is by the outside world. Pick up this book and read it. You won’t regret it.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I am almost finished with the Paris Wife and because of it have ordered The Sun also Rises and The Great Gatsby.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I love Side Car. It may be my favorite place for brunch with fancy drinks. It’s  so close to home and so yummy. Perfect comfort food that’s not to expensive. My favorite drink to pair with brunch is call “The Dude”. It’s some sort of white Russian with out the Kahlua and tastes like a vanilla shake. I take everyone who comes to visit there. I will miss it so.

Brunch Inspiration

Brunch Inspiration

Yuumy Side Car French Toast Brunch

Yummy Side Car French Toast Brunch

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that after I was on another panel discussion for Architecture for Humanity related to Sandy and climate change, I was basically told that my generation doesn’t care enough about the environment.  That we should all be out protesting and screaming at the top of our lungs, forget your jobs and bring your babies along. How this came up was because one of the other panelist said that studies show that mid/late twenty year olds to early thirty year old care less about the environment that any other generations. I guess I don’t know which people they are talking about because most of the people I know care. But I don’t know everyone, but I still don’t like being told that I’m still not doing enough. Maybe I’m not, but I’m doing something. Please don’t tell me you’re on social security and retired like that means that you are also able to retire from your concerns as well. If you want someone protesting in the streets, it sounds like you have time lady. Get going. Humph.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that Melissa and I went to Lincoln Square Gap event featuring the fashion blog Kendi Everyday. We had a couple drinks and a Bare Minerals make-over. It is always fun letting someone else do you make-up but having the large camera lens in your face while you’re getting said make-over is a bit intimidating. Melissa has a great recap here.

Me post make over

Me post make over

021613 039

Melissa's close up

Melissa’s close up

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that Melissa and I went to the Creative Mornings lecture on Friday at the amazing Galapagos Artist Space in DUMBO. The global theme was money and the speaker was Jessica Jackley who co founded Kiva, just one thing on her amazing resume.  She was sweet and bubbly and talked about how we view money and how we need to change that view. How it makes us see people and how that created this turmoil in her that lead to her co founding Kiva. One of her biggest points was the money is just one commodity and sometimes it is not the answer to a problem. Something we should all work to remember.  She was excellent and I would love to see her speak again.

Creative Morning!

Creative Morning!

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you how excited I am for one of my first New York friends, Iris to have moved back to the States from China! We went to the Bell House for the “Party Like It’s 1999” dance party Friday night and had a blast. The pre-party at Melissa’s naturally involved Clueless.

Clueless!

Clueless!

