Chicken & Dumplings

It has been cold in New York City lately! A cold that you don’t normally get here, like wind chill below zero. It makes me want to cook hearty, yummy comfort foods.  A couple weekends ago we got some snow, and after brunch at my favorite place, I decided I needed to make chicken and dumplings. The nice thing about the whole make a bunch of stuff on the stove top and then throw it in the oven, is that I could have it ready to go in the oven when everyone was about ready to eat.  I knew it could feed four so my roommate, Kurt and Melissa join me in my mini winter feast. Kurt was skiing that day, so his return time was a bit undefined. I prepped everything to be ready at about the time he would be back and then threw it in the oven when I knew he was close to home. I paired it with a pomegranate seeds salad (I modified this salad a bit since I could find anything I wanted, will post later) with dinner and Melissa made us some yummy blondies. It was an excellent meal.

On to the actual recipe,  I have never made chicken and dumplings before and I was excited to use the new to this apartment cast iron dutch oven. I went in search of a recipe and found this one by Eat, Live, Run and a this one in my Fresh Flavor Fast cookbook. I wanted more veggies, I love celery and peas for some reason in dishes like this, and I don’t like mushrooms.  I didn’t want to have to get buttermilk to make the ELR biscuits that I won’t use later, so I mostly followed the ELR recipe. It didn’t take a huge amount of time, smelled delicious while it was cooking. It was so delicious. It’s has likely found it’s way into to my regular comfort food repertoire.

The leftovers are still delicious, but they didn't photograph so well...

The leftovers are still delicious, but they didn’t photograph so well…

Chicken & Dumplings

4 to 6 servings

  • 1.25 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed with a knife
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 large red potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 6 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 6 T unsalted butter
  • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen peas

For the biscuits:

  • 1 1/2cup (spooned and leveled) all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  1. In a large pot filled with water and the garlic cloves, poach the chicken thighs until cooked through. Drain and set aside to cool before chopping into small pieces. Set aside.
  2. In another large pot, bring the chicken stock to a boil. Add the carrots, celery and potatoes and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until veggies are done. Remove veggies with a slotted spoon and reserve stock. Combine the chopped chicken and veggies. Set aside.
  3. In a dutch oven, melt the butter. Add the onions and saute for about seven minutes, or until they are soft. Add the flour (6tbsp) and stir to make a roux. Keep cooking for about five minutes, making sure to scrape the flour from the bottom of the pot so it doesn’t burn.
  4. Slowly pour in the remaining stock, whisking as you pour. Crank up the heat to high and whisk your heart out for about five minutes as the sauce thickens and boils. Add the thyme, pepper and nutmeg and stir. Add the peas,chicken and veggies to the onion sauce. Set aside and preheat the oven to 450.
  5. Now make the  dumplings: In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. With a fork, gradually stir in 1/2 cup milk to form a moist and soft batter. It should be just a little thicker than pancake batter and should easily drop from the tip of a spoon. Add additional up to a 1/4 cup of milk if it is too thick. Add the chedder cheese. 
  6. Drop batter on top of the chicken mixture by tablespoonfuls, keeping them spaced apart, I had 6.
  7. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until the dumplings are golden brown and the soup is bubbling. 

Enjoy!

