Cocoa Waffles with Cream Cheese Syrup

Red vel waffles (1)The boys of 731 went off on their extra-special-highly-anticipated ski trip. Last year I joined them in Bozeman for this trip. It was a blast, for sure, and I thought about inviting myself along again, but decided I would wait for some sun in Austin instead. So I invited the other girls of 731, Melissa and Silvia over for Sunday Brunch. Silvia made us a delicious yogurt, fruit and granola dish, Melissa made these tasty mini quiches, hopefully she will share them with us soon, and I made some red velvet waffles I found on A Beautiful Mess.

Red vel waffles (2)That’s right, I said red velvet waffles and they had cream cheese syrup too.  I didn’t bother with the red food coloring but they were still pretty tasty and I renamed them Cocoa Waffles. Maybe would should have eaten more of it, but I think next time I would cut the syrup in half next time I make it. Also, realize that you are suppose to let the batter set for 20 minutes, so make sure you schedule that in if you are planning to cook for others and set a time.

Cocoa Waffles

Serves 3 to 4

  • 1/2 cup + 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Syrup

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup half and half
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

  1. In a bowl combine the dry ingredients (the first seven listed above) and whisk to incorporate. Now add in the remaining ingredients and stir until just combined.
  2. Allow the batter to rest for 20 minutes. While it sets, make your cream cheese syrup.
  3. In a pot combine the cream cheese, half and half, and sugar. Heat over medium heat until the cream cheese begins to become more liquid.
  4. Whisk as you heat to remove any lumps. Once the mixture has become a thick syrup remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. If you want to thin the sauce out even more add more half and half.
  5. Follow your particular waffle iron directions and make waffles.

 

Enjoy!

