Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date #4

3.17.2013 254Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! Maybe this should be a green beer date!

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you it amazes me how small New York City can be and it happens all the time. Take for example last Thursday.  I went to the Architecture League Emerging Architects lecture. I was by myself and picked a random seat in a random row and start playing with my phone. Three seats down a friend of mine, Lisa, was sitting with one of her coworkers. I moved down next to them. A few minutes later, a couple other girls came in to sit next to me and one of them happened to be a new project coordinator for Architecture for Humanity NY. On the way out the door I ran into one more person from AFHny. MASS Design was lecturing so I wasn’t that surprised to see people from AFH there. The most ridiculous part was that on the train home, one stop away from mine, I am closing my book and I realize that I standing two seats from the project coordinator. She live a block away and has lived there for about as long as I’ve lived in 731, so for 3 years we’ve probably run into each other at some point but not actually know each other.

3.17.2013 259 If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you how much I love MASS Design.

3.17.2013 278 3.17.2013 275Friday night my friend Iris wanted to get some Chinese food from the Yunnan province, so we went to Yunnan Kitchen. I thought it was pretty good, Iris was less impressed, but she was just there. Afterwards we went to Two Bits to play some old school arcades games. I never really played them as a kid, and it is so obvious I have no clue what I am doing.  

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you I saw a great documentary called Haiti Redux that featured Architecture for Humanity’s and many other organizations work and efforts to rebuild Haiti.  The film is a collaboration between Fountainhead Transmedia and New York University Schack Institute of Real Estate. It is really interesting, talking about both the issues of rebuilding and the rewards of community engagement. If you get a chance, you should definitely check it out. 

3.17.2013 264If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you about the great Creative Morning lecture on Friday. The topic was Reuse and the speaker was Ron Gonen, NYC department of sanitation’s deputy commissioner for recycling and sustainability. He was an excellent speaker and I think he achieved his goal of getting us all to agree that our waste can actually be cash. I hope he’s correct that one day we will look back and say, “what were we doing?” in regards to how we handle waste now. Very excited for the next one!

3.17.2013 238If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you how much I enjoy K-town karaoke. We celebrated a couple friends birthdays K-town style, I missed dinner, but I didn’t miss karaoke. The thing about this kind of karaoke is that it is just you and your friends in room, no one else, I would never do the other kind. Double bonus, my friend Peter was in town to hang out and go to a Nets game so I made him come with me. He and I traveled to Korea for school and I had first karaoke experience was on that trip. It was a mini blast from the past.

This weekend has been a very busy one, but the best part was catching up with my one of my friends from MSU who is now in Minneapolis. He was in town with the same group of friends that he was here with a couple years ago. He is one of the best dancers I know and his friends are pretty good too. I had a blast getting swung around jitterbugging and can’t wait for the next round.

