Strawberry Rhubarb Cupcakes

For the past few years, Christine has hosted an Oscar viewing party. A bunch of us girls get together, veg out on sweet and savory treats, critique the red carpet, and play some oscar bingo. It’s always a good time and goes way too late for a Sunday evening. People always bring something to share too. I don’t think I’ve brought anything too remarkable in the past, probably bought something instead of making it. This year I went all out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADuring the week before, I was given bunch of strawberries and I needed to do something with them fast. I also had some rhubarb frozen in the freezer that I wanted to use up.  I thought about going for a strawberry rhubarb pie, but that was too easy and I didn’t think I had enough rhubarb anyway. I’m not sure where I got it in my head, but I decided I needed to make cupcakes. I thought I had seen a recipe somewhere, but I couldn’t find it in any of the usual places, so I made it up from a few different recipes.

I started with A Cupcake Love Affair. I didn’t have the patience to make a lattice top, and I didn’t like the vanilla cupcake recipe for some reason. So I used her strawberry rhurbarb filling recipe and turned to my 500 Cupcakes cookbook for the vanilla cupcake base. Then I decided to use a buttercream frosting, also from 500 Cupcakes. I even turned a ziplock bag into a piping bag to make cute little top splotches of frosting. All Out.

Final verdict? Amazing and really not too difficult to make despite all the steps. Go for it.

Strawberry Rhubarb Cupcakes

Make 18 cupcakes

Filling:

  • 2 cups strawberries, diced
  • 2 cups frozen rhubarb, diced (I’m sure you can use fresh too)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  1. Mix all ingredients in a pot and cook on stove until it starts to bubble and thicken.
  2. Set aside and let cool completely while you make the cupcakes.

Vanilla Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup sweet butter, softened 
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and place baking cups in muffin tin.
  2. Mix all ingredients in a bowl and beat until smooth and pale, 2 to 3 minutes.
  3. Spoon mixture into cups filling each 1/2 to 2/3 full.
  4. Bake 20 minutes, remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes before removing from tin to cool on a rack.

Buttercream Frosting:

  • 1/2 cup sweet butter
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  1. Beat all the ingredients until smooth.

Assembly:

  1. Using fork or knife, carefully carve out the center of the cupcakes to make a well for the filling to go in. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  2. Fill each well with filling to the top and maybe a little over.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  3. Using a ziplock bag with the corner cut, or an actual piping bag, squeeze a dollop of frosting on top of the well, covering it completely. Make it as big or small as you wish.
  4. Use some left over  filling to drizzle over the frosting.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  5. Store in an airtight container for up to three days.

Enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

