Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date #5

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you Happy Easter! I am actually hosting FEASTER today. 15 or so friends are planning to turn up, so we shall see how I fair through the ham baking, egg dying and beer egg hunting.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I love Dine in Brooklyn. Every year restaurants offer three course dinners for a price that is about the same as and entree. I’ve been to several restaurants that I normally wouldn’t have checked out because of it.  This year Christine organized an outing to Scottadito and it was amazing. First course was a beet, arugula  roasted walnut and goat cheese salad. Short ribs that just fell off the bone, green beans, and the most delicious mashed potatoes ever where the entree. Last but not least was the cookies and cream gelato, mine was some how missing the cookies, but I got to try the banana and nutella too, so that kinda made up for it.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I saw this girl wearing a cardigan buttoned up and backwards. I’m not really sure what to think about this, I guess it looks fine from the front, and zippers or buttons down the back are in, but this was a V-neck with pockets… Maybe if the pockets were not there, it would have passed. Maybe.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about the Observent Eye Program at the Met that Melissa asked me to join her for last Friday. If the check-in girl thought that my name being ‘Kurt’ was odd, she didn’t say anything. We discussed a piece of work by Hopper, talking about the technical aspects of the peice, the clear influences from other artists, and the social aspects that may have played a role in what the piece was trying to convey. I, naturally, said nothing, but everything everyone else had to say was very interesting and the hour disappeared. We studied it from several different distances and it made me want to spend more time looking at pieces of art, as hard as it may be.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would say my brother is driving me crazy. He bought a foreclosure house in Wisconsin and asked me to help him fix it up, new light fixtures, paint colors, new floors. After arguing forever back and forth, we finally got the paint down a couple weeks ago.  But last weekend, if I could have reached through the phone and strangled him over light fixtures I might have. It is very hard to pick fixtures when one of you is in the store and the other is looking at the stores website and the pictures sent to you. I don’t recommend it. Hopefully it all looks good together and maybe if he listens to me about a few more things, he might have a very nice, grown-up looking home. Brat.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you to read this girls post on leaving New York. She totally gets it and says it much better than me. Although, I have no idea if I have actually “made it” or not. I have definitely survived.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you I got a phone call on Thursday evening that could shake things up A LOT very fast. I’m not sure if I’m ready, in fact I might be a bit terrified.  I just came across Sheryl Sandberg’s (who’s book I apparently need to read) personal mantra—”What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” I’m trying to keep in it mind and but I keep telling myself that a few things have to happen first, so stop worrying about all these other things. When I know more, I’ll let you know what’s up.

