FEASTER Edition 3.0 [Bourbon Honey Ham]

Easter (3)This year marked my third Easter in the city and therefore my third FEASTER! Even with the crappy weather, it still turned out to be a pretty awesome day As per my usual, I sent out an invite to far more people than I can actually host in my tiny backyard and hope that only about half will respond. We ended up with 20 people. Twenty. And those 20 people enjoyed FEASTER! by  coloring eggs, a beer egg hunt and eating lots of delicious food.

Easter (28)Easter (10)You may be wondering what I mean by beer egg hunt.  I was carrying a basket full of eggs all day. In each egg was candy and  some had a piece of paper with a number that corresponded to a beer in the fridge. Instead of hiding all the eggs at once in the tiny garden/apartment, I hid them randomly throughout the day and people returned them to me to collect their  beer and so I could refill and rehide. This was for the most part a great success, but some people who were only interested in beer, would open the eggs and put the ones filled with only candy back. Tsk Tsk.

Easter (24)Let’s talk about food. Last year the boys wanted to smoke meat and it was delicious and I stuck to dessert. This year I wanted to do a ham again. I love ham, so I took over the main dish. After going through few recipes, I heard The Pioneer Woman was doing one with bourbon. I was sold. Her recipe wasn’t on line so I went in search of my own after looking a few I went with one from Southern Living. I just assumed they probably really knew what they were doing. Plus it was a pretty simple recipe and the proportions were right for the size of ham I wanted to make. The rest of the menu included:  Dirty Rice, Grilled Brussels Sprouts, Hash Brown Casserole, Ham & Cheese Crepes, Potato Salad, Gluten Free Mac n Cheese, Deviled Eggs, Bean Salad, Spinach Salad, Banana Chocolate Bars, Cannolis, Honey Cake (okay so I made dessert, will share later), and Grapefruit Sangria.

Easter (25)Easter (17)Easter (19)The ham was pretty simple to prepare, I bought a shoulder and had to cut some skin off of it. I was not expecting that, it was kinda gross. I also was a terrible judge of how thick the fat was in some places, I thought I had trimmed it down well, but that ended up not being the case. Oh well, it tasted just fine. Everyone one really seemed to like it. Yeah! So you should give it try. Even though it feeds 15, with all the dishes everyone brought, we had leftovers. I have a great leftover dish to share with you that I made earlier this week, so even if you over do it, no worries, I got back up.  Now go get drunk on some ham.

Easter (11)Bourbon Honey Ham

serves 12 to 15

  • 1 (9 1/4-lb.) fully cooked, bone-in ham shoulder
  • approximately 40 whole cloves
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup bourbon
  • 1/3 cup Creole mustard
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  1.  Preheat oven to 350°. Remove skin from ham, and trim fat to 1/4-inch thickness.
  2. Make shallow cuts in fat 1 inch apart in a diamond pattern; insert cloves in centers of diamonds. You may not use all the cloves, just fill all the diamond centers.Easter (21)
  3. Place ham in an aluminum foil-lined 13- x 9-inch pan.
  4.  Stir together the remaining ingredients and spoon over ham.
  5.  Bake at 350° on lowest oven rack 2 hours and 30 minutes, basting with pan juices every 30 minutes. After an hour, shield ham with foil. Remove ham from oven, and let stand 30 minutes before serving.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Easter (6)Enjoy!

