Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Six

IMG_3334

Central Park

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you about the daffodils that started coming up in the garden during the terrible weather at the end of the week. They are the only thing I can keep alive back there, and the crocuses. Very fitting that the day I noticed they finally bloomed I read this little article about the daffodils you see throughout the city.

If were were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I started biking to work this week. The weather finally decided to get a little bit warm and then took it all away Wednesday night. I was soaked going home that night. Good thing my bag is waterproof… for the most part.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that Melissa some how convinced me to run 6 miles with her in Central Park yesterday. She has been training for a half marathon. I said I would do the training runs with her since it was still too cold for me to bike to work and I could use the motivation to get up at 6AM and go to the gym. I like to think I also provide moral support. Every Saturday she has added a mile, I have not really been participating in this part of the training, but I did sort of build up for the 6 miles. She signed up to run with this group put together by Immaculate Infatuation, and they scheduled the run. The plan was to meet at 11 AM at East 72nd Street, run a loop and go to Shake Shack for lunch.  Since it is on 86th Street, we were going to run just a little further. And then it turns out that you cannot get off the loop, there is a fence and steep hill to roll down should you wish to try, until 90th Street. We ran the entire way, no walking, no stopping and we kept up. Melissa was actually running 8 miles, she had already ran 2 before we met, so I don’t know how she didn’t die, but once we passed 72nd and started back up the small hill, I wanted to die. We ran 7.2 miles!!! 1.2 miles more than scheduled. 2.2 miles farther than I have ever continuously kept myself moving without stopping and at least 3.2 miles father than I have ever ran. My hip flexors hate me today. At least it doesn’t hurt to ride a bike.

Post 7.2 mile run reward.

Post 7.2 mile run reward.

If we were having afternoon coffee I would show you pictures of the Anthropology spring fashion show Melissa and I attended. Check out Melissa great recap here. I love that store, but it’s always just out of my price range. Sigh.

If we were having coffee  this afternoon I would tell you that anther one of my project started demolition this week! This one is a 3 bedroom apartment on the Upper West Side. It’s very exciting and so far there haven’t been too many surprises, but a lot of garbage…

IMG_3248

Early 1910's floor construction

Early 1910’s floor construction

If we were having coffee  this afternoon I would tell you about the Cadbury Cream Egg off I had in the office, American vs. British. For those of you who don’t know, I love those sugary morsels that only come around once a year. I have to restrain myself from eating multiple at a time and stock up on them so they last past Easter. One of my coworkers lives near a candy shop that sells the British version and brought me one. THEY ARE SO GOOD! I mean I didn’t know how much better my favorite candy could get, but damn it can get much better. And they are bigger.

USA vs. England

USA vs. England

If we were having coffee  this afternoon I would tell you to watch this, but not in public, I made that mistake. It is truly amazing how you can absolutely feel the emotions and connection.

If were having coffee this afternoon I would send you one more convincing article with great reason for leaving the city.

If were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I am very excited for my “Afternoon Tea Party” next Saturday. Hopefully everything falls into place, I’ve been planning for weeks!

 

