The Macy’s Flower Show [The Painted Garden]

Macy Flower show (32)I used to work near Macy’s on 34th Street. The Harold Square subway station was my stop, so I got to deal with that mess every time I wasn’t riding my bike. Every spring I saw the tent go up for the Macy’s Flower Show and in the same fashion that I avoided the Macy’s and it’s unending amounts of people [tourist], I avoided the flower show. I also thought that is cost something and the line to get in that looked similar to one you would see at Disney, was also a turn off, even though I really do love flowers. I seriously thought about being a florist at one point in time back in high school, but all that comes with Macy’s was not enough to get me to get close enough to check it out.

Melissa used to go when she was younger and asked me if I wanted to go check it out before it closed. I reluctantly agreed since we both hate tourist crowded areas and lines, so if it was terrible, we wouldn’t hang around. She remembered the flowers filling the first floor where all the make up and perfume is located. We went in the store to see if they still did stuff inside, but it was just a small piece at the entry and then all of the window displays. The line was surprisingly short and it is free so we decided to go see what was in the tent. I would try to describe it with words, but pictures are probably better. I will say, it was beautiful.

Macy Flower show (2)Macy Flower show (34)Macy Flower show (28)Macy Flower show (26)Macy Flower show (38)Macy Flower show (35)Macy Flower show (14)Macy Flower show (9)Macy Flower show (8)Macy Flower show (19)Macy Flower show (7)Macy Flower show (16)Macy Flower show (11)Macy Flower show (12)Macy Flower show (3)Macy Flower show (24)Check out Melissa’s great photos here. If you get the chance to check it out, you really should. I wish I had every year I had the chance! And you don’t have to live in New York to see it, they have it in other major cities throughout the US, so you might be closer than you think!

