Honey Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARemember way back when I told you about Feaster? And I happen to mention a honey cake for dessert? Well I’m finally going to tell you about it. I wanted to make sure I had a gluten free dessert option and something that was quick and able to fit in and around baking a ham. The recipe is from Serious Eats, although I’m sure I came across it somewhere else. Honey cake is a Greek dessert also known as Melopita. It’s a simple cheesecake with a bit of honey and cinnamon and I tossed some raspberries on top, just cause. It was really good and surprisingly light for cheesecake. Give it a try, I think you might like it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHoney Cake [Melopita]

Serves 8

  • 4 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon brandy
  • 18 ounces soft ricotta cheese
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter a 10 inch ceramic pie dish.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together 3 1/2 tablespoons sugar and eggs until creamy, about 3 minutes. Beat in flour. Add honey and beat until well combined. Add lemon juice and brandy and mix to combine.
  3. Add cheese to bowl and beat until mixture has blended, about 2 minutes.
  4. Pour batter into prepared baking dish and bake until golden and just firm in the middle, 30 minutes.
  5. Sp

    rinkle warm cake with extra 1 tablespoon sugar and cinnamon.

Enjoy!

