Crossing Brooklyn Ferry | BAM

Manhattan Bridge

Manhattan Bridge

The first weekend of May spring finally arrived and I am so happy its here. My only concern is that spring is gonna disappear before we really have time to enjoy it and summer will be here with all it’s horrible humid heat. My friend Christian and I decided to take advantage and headed over to Brooklyn Bridge Park Saturday afternoon. I wanted to check out the new bridge from the Brooklyn Promenade.

The sun started going down and we started trying to figure out what we are going to do for the evening when Christian got a message from his boss asking if anyone wanted tickets to BAM‘s Crossing Brooklyn Ferry festival. I had been hearing a lot about it and had thought about going but never got around to really looking into it. I pulled out my phone to see if I could figure out who was playing that night, but all I could see was the headliners, not when they were up. But who can you really pass up free tickets?

CBF (3)We picked up our tickets and checked out the schedule. We got there just in time to catch Brooklyn Brewery‘s tasting of some beers that they haven’t released to bars yet. We tried a hefeweizen that was pretty heavy for a wheat beer and moved on to the music.  The first band we saw was Here We Go Magic. They were pretty good, but I was more excited for Phosphorescent who I had been hearing a lot of on the radio at work. They were great and a lot older than I thought. Bonus point for me since I did actually remember some of their songs. I’m not the best when it comes to keeping up with music.

CBF (4)

Phosphorescent

Phosphorescent

After Phosphorescent, we went to the theater to catch what we could of the films playing. We came in at the end of one and caught all of Passages by Alex Braverman and Poppy de Villeneuve. It was a really good 12 minute film documenting a father’s trip across the country to the Grand Canyon where he released his sons ashes. Most of the film was of the drive speed way up and it kind of made me a bit motion sick, but still really good, just be warned. That was the last film, so we headed back downstairs for the final music performance, TV on the Radio.

TV on the Radio is phenomenal. I knew some of their music, but I am listening to them a lot more now. The lead singer is such a great performer  He doesn’t necessarily move a lot, but when he does, it’s with great precision. He whips his arm around so fast you swear he is double jointed or that his hand is going to come flying off. Then he stops it perfectly in time with the music. Afterwards at the dance party, Christian was trying to copy him. He’s got nothing on that kind of swinging. Go see them. Seriously.

TV on the Radio

TV on the Radio

We ended the night at the dance party and I am in love with BAM a little bit more.

