Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Mother’s Day

IMG_3582Today, even though they are all well over a 1000 miles away, this coffee date will be with my mom and her mocha, Grandma D. and her tea, and Grandma Z. with her black coffee.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would say Happy Mother’s Day! To my own wonderful mother who has given me and my sibling so much freedom, respect, and encouragement to whatever we want to do with our lives.  For giving us the disciplined we most certainly needed when we were younger even when we didn’t think we needed it and trusting us to make right decisions as we grew older and not leveling a curfew.  For laughing at me when I have told you about the kids who’s parents were still making their choices for them in college. For pushing me to be my best and to travel as far as I can. For not giving us any kind of pressure to get married and have babies as soon as possible. For listening when I’ve need some one to hear me bitch about whatever issue it is and use more cuss words than a sailor can in a half an hour, I thank you. If I ever get crazy enough to go crazy and have a baby or two, I hope I can do it as well as you.

Mom, Great Gram, and me in 2004

Mom, Great Gram, and me in 2004

And to my two wonderful grandmother’s who I am still lucky enough to have. Grandma D., you have shown me how to garden, even though I still have the blackest of thumbs, how to make jam, feed calves and fish. I always loved it when I was little and we got to stay at your house over night. We would get to have popcorn at night and in the morning you and grandpa would be sitting in your chairs reading and we would curl up on your laps. Grandma Z., you were the grandma in the city, the house we got to spend many summer hours at, running up and down the stairs, “slamming” doors, having water fights and go carts. We got to have white bread from the store when we visited you and go to McDonald’s for breakfast. You taught me how to make monkey bread and we loved your old station wagon when the seat in the trunk that faced backwards. I remember the times we drove out without telling you to surprise you for the holidays, you looked right at me, looked away with out realizing and then back again. I also remember many “fits” being thrown when it was time for you to head east or us to head west.

Kristen and Grandma D. at her graduation last spring

Kristen and Grandma D. at her graduation last spring

Kristen and Grandma Z. at her graduation last spring

Kristen and Grandma Z. at her graduation last spring

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that my little mad hatter hats made it on to The Soho’s blog post for the April Photo Project. You should definitely check out the other great homemade ideas!

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that last weekend I did the Cinco de Mayo 5k run in Prospect Park. It was the first time I actually ran all the way around the park even though I have biked it time and time again. I set a new personal record for a 5k by shaving off over a minute per mile. I wasn’t actually trying to do that. It’s crazy how running with a group vs a treadmill can push you. It was a fun run and was followed by a Mexican brunch that included sangria. Food is really the only way to get me to run. Let’s be honest.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you not to worry yet about my job situation. It’s has been surprising how much part time work has come my way in the past week. So much in fact, that I have had to turn things down and am worried that I will end up busier than I was before and still not get my job/move/life figured out. I have been having so great conversations with some great people in the cities I am most interested in moving to. I also changed my flights in June so that I can go to the National AIA Convention in Denver and hang out with the Architecture for Humanity crew as well as give the city a second chance and maybe do some interviews.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you how happy I am that Madison Square Eats is back. Since it started a week ago, I have been up there twice. Love it so much. The first day was a crazy mad house as expected, but you just can pass it up. So many of my favorites are back and I am excited to try some new ones too.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I am excited to be going home in June. I think this is the longest stretch of time that I have had between visits home. I am definitely ready for some time in the country and celebrating a few family milestones while I’m there.

