Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Nine

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I have been crazy busy. I have fallen behind on my blogging and I have things to post up, but no time to do it. I keep getting wrapped up in the job search stuff, freelance work, Architecture for Humanity or sleeping. I actually feel like I am busier than I was before, but it’s probably just because I am running around to different places for things. This week, one freelance project should be wrapping up while another just started and will last a few weeks. On the job front, things are starting to look up. I think I’m seeing a few possible routes to go and I like them. I still feel like Marc Johns illustration above perfectly describes what is going on in my brain/life right now, but maybe I’ll get it sorted out.  Fingers crossed!

I spent a whole day measuring this awesome house in CT

I spent a whole day measuring this awesome house in CT

I am doing the As-Built drawings for this building. I was hoping the tree continued on the roof, but it doesn't.

I am doing the As-Built drawings for this building. I was hoping the tree continued on the roof, but it doesn’t.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I forgot to lock my bike up on Wall Street one evening. I had a meeting down there and was locking my bike up to some scaffolding, worrying that the cops would cut the lock a remove my bike because it’s Wall Street and a bike can be dangerous. Instead I should have been paying more attention to what I was doing. I had a nagging feeling that something else was wrong, that I didn’t actually lock it. But I remember locking it around the smaller pipe of the structure because the larger one was too big. When I walked back out  an hour and a half  later, my bike was there. The front tire was locked to the frame. The back tire was locked to the frame. Nothing was locked to the scaffolding. Lucky? I think so.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that Melissa kicked some butt in the Brooklyn Half marathon! I had mentioned that I was being motivation to help get up and run in the morning for her training and even did a 7 mile run with her. That’s where I stopped and she kept building and she rocked it! Well done! I’ll stick to biking if it ever gets nice enough to get out for a long ride.

Go Melissa!

Go Melissa!

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I keep running into one of the few other MSU architecture school alums. He is building a pretty sweet looking pavilion near Hudson, NY and is looking for help to build it over the next few weeks. Since I have time on my hands, it looks like I’m going to go help in early June unless something comes up.  I’m looking forward to getting out of the city and getting my hands dirty. Maybe help direct some students around, more likely just watch him do that since I won’t actually know what is going on.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I was very excited to see Camille Styles had a post on neon artist Todd Sanders in Austin. If you recall, I was quite in love with all the neon signs in Austin and Todd has moved from commercial work to doing art pieces only. Pretty awesome work.

