Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date| Eleven

VCD 11If we were having coffee this afternoon I would say I have no idea where the time has gone! I thought I was going to have all this time on my hands and instead I have been running around like a crazy person for the last three weeks. I was in upstate New York for combined total of a week, went to Bozeman for an interview, stopped in Minneapolis on my way to South Dakota and drove down to Denver for the AIA convention for several days. I just got back last Monday and have been busy finishing a freelance project up ever since. This weekend is the first one since the start of the month were I won’t be running. I am happy for the break. I will hopefully get some post ready about all the “exciting” stuff I did in June.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I have decided no matter what, I am leaving New York by August 15th. My extended time away has confirmed that I am just ready to go. As much as I love it and all my friends here, I need to go somewhere else. To please all the naysayers, I’m not going to say I’m never moving back, but it’s most likely going to be awhile if I do. And no, I still don’t know where I am going to go for sure. I am applying for jobs in multiple cities, we’ll see where I land.

LHCH RTG (7)If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that one of the first project that started when I became a director is built! The roof top garden for the Lenox Hill Community House was schematically designed by my friend and landscape architect, Kurt. With the design the client was able to receive a grant and two and half  years later, the project is complete. This is one of the first permanent projects that has been completed in New York and we are so proud of it!

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that you could tell how busy I was by how neglected my Feedly account was. I hadn’t looked at it in weeks until yesterday and there were over 500 posts waiting for my attention. Even with such a daunting number, I still really do like catching up on them, seeing what people are creating and doing and their opinions on all the stuff that was happening while I was in a mini travel bubble and paid no attention to what was happening in the world. I made it through everything, mind you there was a lot of skimming and I’m-just-deleting-this-and-not-reading-it going on. And poor Melissa probably ended up with 50 emails at the end of the afternoon that said something along the lines of “I love this,” “we are making this,” “we are doing this.”

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would ask you to help me figure out what to do for my last birthday in New York and the last of my twenties. It’s next Sunday and since my birthday is near the 4th of July and my mom’s is the day before, I kinda just take over the whole holiday as my birthday and elongate the celebrating. My original plan was to hang out on Pier 6 in Brooklyn Bridge Park Sunday afternoon, but it’s still not open for the summer! What is up with that. So now I have many ideas floating around, but none I am in love with. And I need to send an invite soon before everyone has other plans. Help. Please.

