Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Twelve

South Side

South Side

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I had a blast last week in Jersey City for the Fourth of July. We were hanging out on my friend Hillary’s roof, three stories above the street. Below us, her neighbors were lighting off fireworks which exploded right next to us. It was a bit loud, but I love fireworks and as long as something didn’t start on fire, it was fine. The Macy’s fireworks were not as good. Maybe they should put them back on the East River where they would be visible from Queens and Brooklyn like they used to be, but that would be silly to have the New York City fireworks visible from all it’s boroughs.

If we were having coffee I would tell you that when I leave New York, I will miss the Bell House in Brooklyn. They have so many great parties, especially dance parties. I normally do not like to wait in line or pay to get in to things like this, but a few of us stood in line for an hour and paid a cover (this is new for me at the Bell House) for the most recent The Rub party. It was definitely worth it. Great DJs in both spaces and dancing that didn’t stop until 4 am. I like it. I also really love their 90’s Dance Parties and the Secret Science Club.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I stood inline yet again for something semi-ridiculous: Cronuts. And this was a fail. Melissa and I got in line at 7 am, and it was already over a block long. We missed the cronuts, by maybe a half hour.  We didn’t get inside until about 9:30-10am. We did get some other taste pastries and an amazing chocolate chip cookie. Based on how good the DKA was, I am excited for the cronut. They were giving us fresh Madeline’s while we waited in line. that was nice and very tasty as well. We are going again soon at 6am. Yea. that’s right.

DKA

DKA

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you I had a great 29th birthday. As much as it is horrifying to think I am a year away from 30, I had a good time. Some of us went out the night before on my mom’s birthday and stayed out until midnight to ring in mine. Since mine was on a Sunday, I had an informal gathering at Building on Bond in the afternoon and made my favorite cookies into a sort of birthday cake tower. It was so hot out, I was so glad I switched from an outdoor venue to one with air conditioning. As a random side note, I came across this website on a other blog that list what food holiday your birthday is. Mine is National Strawberry Sundae Day. Not a bad one, but I think my mom’s is much better: National Fried Chicken Day.

Giant Light Bright and Cookies!

Giant Light Bright and Cookies!

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that my friend Marit, who now lives in Denver, was visiting the east coast and we headed up to Williamsburg on CitiBikes for a Monday Brunch at Pies ‘n Thighs. Let’s start with CitiBike, pretty much the same as the ones in other cities, very easy to use, heavy though, but easy to get from place to place. We did have one technology issue at one stop, who knows what it was doing, but after a few minutes things seemed to be fine. Maybe the heat was affecting it too. If I wasn’t moving, I would get a year membership. There has been multiply times with this rainy weather were I’ve taken the subway and could have used CitiBike later on. Now for the delicious Pies ‘n Thighs. Thank god I don’t live around the corner from that place cause I would be in there all the time. The chicken and biscuit sandwich was so good. We shared some cheesy grits and hush puppies on the side. The place is really cute too. I highly recommend it and will be going back to try their doughnuts. I had no room in me for it after that sandwich.

Pies 'n Thighs

Pies ‘n Thighs

Monday Brunch

Monday Brunch

If  we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I can’t believe I am moving in four weeks. I have no idea were I am going yet. I don’t know where my stuff is going. I am slowly packing stuff up and deciding what is going in the yard sale, what is moving and what is trash. I have vague ideas about all of this. I most likely won’t have a job yet, though I am have been seriously looking! I may go hang out with my cousin in New Orleans for a long weekend, although it sounds awful in August, or go to Martha’s Vineyard to volunteer for a friends youth camp and hang out there ,or do both. The other question is what to do with the cat!

One thought on “Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Twelve

  1. Pingback: mallet refectory: Review: the customised deep cleansing facial at the Marker… | The Cronuts

Comments are closed.