Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date| Thirteen

IMG_4603If we were having coffee this afternoon, it would include donuts. Melissa and I continued our NYC Donut Tour today at Dough in Brooklyn. I tried the Lemon Poppy Seed, Mixed Berry and Toasted Coconut. Donuts for breakfast and lunch? I don’t think you can go wrong with that.  I know Melissa will have a full write up soon!

IMG_4604If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I had an excellent time at Melissa and Kurt’s housewarming party. Their little apartment is adorable! As I pack all my stuff up, I keep thinking about what I actually want to keep and what I want to do with my new place, where ever that may be. Or what I am going to do to my brothers. The poor boy has no idea:)

Red Lotus Rooftop movie (7)If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about the movie Christine and I saw on the rooftop of the Red Lotus. The place has a sort of hidden entrance and is huge. Very bohemian styled. The movie was a black and white film from 1953 called The Earrings of Mademe deIt is a French film and at first they did not start it with the subtitles. After about 10 minutes, they restarted it, which was good, because I wasn’t sure how long I would last with out them and I totally had what was going on wrong. The story was pretty good and reminder of how things were then. The cheating husband is the victor in the end, while all the cheating women suffer, even if they were wronged first.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would make you watch this episode of Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee. I’ve never been a big Jerry Seinfeld, but I am a fan of Seth Meyers.

Newport (10)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about my mini trip to Rhode Island. Last week, I was asked a bit last minute to speak on a panel for Architecture for Humanity at Roger Williams Collage for the AIA’s Summer Conference. I think it went well. I think my public speaking is improving bit by bit, but only the video recording will tell… yikes. Afterwards they had drinks and a lobster boil. The last time I had lobster was in Maine with my friend Peter years ago. I had to be taught again how to break it open, and shot juice of some sort across the room. It was a very messy and good time. Since I was going to be 30 minutes away, I decided to stay over night in Bristol and spend the next day in Newport. I had wanted to visit for ever and finally had a chance.  I will fill you in more about that trip later. After all the trips that happened before!

Potland (154)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I had a great trip and mini reunion with NY friends in Portland, OR for our friend Christina’s wedding last weekend. I will tell you more about it later as well, but I cannot gush enough about how beautiful Portland is and the wedding was. Great work Christina! I also had some meetings/interviews while I was out there, so we will see if those go anywhere!

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I cannot believe I am leaving New York in two and a half weeks! I really don’t. And really I am know heading down to New Orleans to meet my cousin on the 16th for a long weekend, then coming back up to Martha’s Vineyard for the week after before heading to my brothers in Wisconsin on the 25th. I think anyway. Thinking about my travel plans for the end of August makes my head spin. Right now we are at seven states in less than three weeks, and they are not all near each other. Whew!

