Ablsolut X Party with Architecture for Humanity

I’m not entirely sure how it all happened, but Architecture for Humanity was approached by Absolut to be their charity partner for their Absolut X Block Parties this year. There were multiple parties around the country that involved local DJ’s, artists and performers. All we had to do we was find a home for the piece of participatory art that would be created during the party.  Oh and we got to hang out as VIP at the party. Sounds like a pretty good deal right?

It was. People were lined up around the block hours before the doors even opened. We had to be there early to set up our little AFH space and get our faces painted, naturally. The theme was  masquerade so you could paint your face, wear your own mask or one of theirs. Plus you could get your hair styled. I didn’t have time for that, but I would have. The drinks were all Absolut based as you might have guess, and pretty tasty. Being able to run up the VIP bar and grab drinks was so nice. The wait was ridiculous downstairs.

AbsolutX AFH (1)

Getting Ready for the Party

Getting Ready for the Party

AbsolutX AFH (3)

It was a bit crazy, I know.

It was a bit crazy, I know.

Rachel, Garrett, and I all dolled up.

Rachel, Garrett, and I all dolled up.

Questlove was spinning for most of the party. He is awesome, I should have gone to see him preform more often. Sanford Biggers was the artist. Some of his pieces were hung in the space, but he created the concept for the quilt that party goers created. This is what I need to find a home for, if you have any idea, please let me know. The best part of the night was Santigold‘s performance. I didn’t realize how much of her music I knew and her dancers were phenomenal. Seriously, I want to be them.

Questlove

Questlove

A giant quilt

A giant quilt

Santigold & her amazing dancers

Santigold & her amazing dancers

Everyone on stage

Everyone on stage

I admit I was a bit stressed about this whole event, and there were some hiccups, but over all it was a blast and one of those things I never would have known about that was happening in the city on a random Thursday night. Thanks Architecture for Humanity!

AbsolutX AFH (26)

