Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Seventeen

Coffee 9 22If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I am still in Bozeman. And I don’t know if I am going to be going back to Wisconsin after Austin City Limits any more not. I picked up some consulting work in Big Sky the first week I was here and he had two weeks of work for me, so my stay was extended. It sounds like I may be headed back here after ACL, but not set it stone. I was also given a pass to SXSW Eco the days right after ACL, so I will be in Austin for longer than I anticipated as well. Things keeps changing faster than I can keep up.

View of Bozeman from the top of the M

View of Bozeman from the top of the M

If we we having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about how Bozeman is sucking me in. Last weekend, I had been working on resumes and such all day Sunday. Around 5:30, I just snapped, threw on some active clothes, drove 15 minutes and was hiking the trail to the M. Almost every day I have been running outside and it is beautiful. Cars stop for you, that’s crazy.  My favorite coffee shops still exist and are still making some great coffee. And downtown keeps changing but I still love it. Everyone is so nice. SUCKING. ME. IN. The only bad thing is that I didn’t plan on being away from my brother’s for so long, and most of the clothes I packed are summer, not fall at all. And it snowed in the mountains this week. The snow stayed on the high peaks for a couple days. I actually made him ship some stuff to me and had my mom ship me a coat since the days are beautiful but the evenings and mornings are chilly. I still love it though.

Snow covered Lone Peak

Snow covered Lone Peak

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I sat in on one of the freshman architecture studios with one of my favorite professor the first week in town. I had completely forgotten all the basic design stuff we went over that first year, especially in the first week. Hearing the words like gestalt thrown out was a nice reminder. Listen to the students try to critique each other was also pretty fun.  There also happened to be a fall Montana AIA convention at the school, so I went to that to get some continuing education out of the way. I ran into my old boss from CTA and some old classmates I had not seen since we graduated. It turned out to be a pretty good series with a couple good presentation and lectures.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would say that I am so grateful for all the friends who have let me crash on their couches, air mattress, roommates bed, etc.  Since leaving South Dakota, I have stayed at five different places. I get around. The thing about it is, it is making me just want to pick a place, buy the new mattress I have been waiting to buy and figure it out from there. Will be evaluating the options over the next couple weeks.

