Denver Brunch| Sweet Almond Pancakes with Raspberries

09102013 257I mentioned that while I was staying on my Denver friend’s couch for a week, I made them brunch one morning as a token of my appreciation. I haven’t done much cooking or baking lately given all my moving around, so it was nice to get in the kitchen for a bit. I made Sweet Almond Pancakes with Raspberries, which I found on Big Girls, Small Kitchen. I also made some thick slab bacon and finished it off with some mimosas. The pancakes are very light and fluffy. They wanted to stick to the cast iron, so I ended up spraying it with Pam before each new pancake, but I didn’t burn any or end up with any super deformed ones. It was a perfect brunch if I do say so myself.

Sweet Almond Pancakes with  Raspberries
Makes 10 pancakes

  • 2/3 cup blanched slivered almonds
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed orange juice (zest, then squeeze)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch cream of tarter
  • 1 pint fresh raspberries
  • Confectioners’ sugar
  • Pam cooking spray for the pan
  1. Place the almonds and 2 1/2 tablespoons of the sugar in a food processor. Run until the almonds are finely ground–almost like flour.
  2. Transfer the ground almonds to a bowl and add the egg yolks, almond milk, orange zest, juice, and vanilla. Stir well to combine. Sprinkle the flour on top and fold it in.
  3. Place the egg whites, salt, and cream of tarter in another mixing bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat until the egg whites on high until foamy. Slowly add the remaining tablespoon sugar and continue to beat until soft peaks form.
  4. Gently scoop the egg whites into the bowl with the rest of the batter and fold them in, being careful not to deflate the egg whites.
  5. Coarsely chop about half the pint of raspberries and fold them into the batter.
  6. Heat a cast-iron skillet or other heavy pan over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Spray lightly with oil, (I had to do this before each pancake, they really wanted to stick to the cast iron for some reason if I didnt). Drip a small amount of batter onto the surface to test–it should not spread much and should be firm and golden brown on the bottom within about a minute.
  7. Make pancakes by dropping scant 1/4-cup scoops of batter onto the pan. Cook about 2 minutes, until bubbles form on top, then flip and cook another 1-2 minutes, until golden on both sides. Repeat with the remaining batter.
  8. Serve with the rest of the fresh raspberries and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

Enjoy!

