Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date | Eighteen

ACL (154)If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I loved being able to sit outside all the time at restaurants and coffee shops in Austin. Some places have more outdoor seating than indoor I think. I’m sure it’s not as pleasant in the summer… but it is nice in October, especially as I think about it as I drive back to Montana.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I have two things that I really miss about New York right now, besides my friends. One is public transportation, perhaps not that surprising. Sitting in traffic sucks! I would much rather be on a train reading or a bus than sitting in a car forever. Seriously. Especially when its really not that long of a trip. The unexpected thing I miss is a good sandwich. I have been craving a good sandwich, from no where in particular, forever now. I guess I want something along the lines of Spreads or ‘sNice. There is Potbelly in other cities… I have yet to fix this craving, I am probably going to have to make replications until I find the perfect one.

Austin (5)Austin (10) Austin (8) Austin (13)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about the trip out to The Domain for the opening of Splendid with my cousin, Rachael. The Domain is an interesting place. It reminds me of an outlet mall, but I guess it’s just a regular outdoor mall, with office and apartments in the towers above the shopping. The streets are really narrow and it’s trying to have this downtown feel. Not sure how I feel about it, but I love Splendid! I wish it was more in my budget, I would end up with many pieces.

BootiesAustin (15)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would profess my love for my new booties (I saw them in an email and couldn’t resist them). I made Rachael take me to a DSW to see if we could find them. We did and I loved them more in person than in picture. I would also be professing my love for my hair right now. Rachael is an amazingly talented hair stylist. She did a beautiful job highlighting it and cutting it and teaching me how to use these curling wand things without burning myself too many times. She even went along with my need for some added crazy to my hair and agreed to strategically place some strands of orange. I can hide them if I need to or have them exposed. They look AMAZING. At least I think so.

ACL (145)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that the SXSW Eco conference was pretty depressing after a few days of great music at Austin City Limits. I was going to do a whole post on it, but decided there wasn’t much I wanted to say on it. I heard some really great people speak, you should definitely take a look at Ron Finley’s TED Talk. He was a great opening speaker. But there was a lot of doom and gloom talk. Which, I think most people at the conference already get what you are saying, so how about we talk more about what your solutions are, REAL solutions that you can get EVERYONE behind, not just the current followers, instead of just spinning wheels talking about what will happen if we don’t do something, or about the great work you’ve done, but you don’t have a universal backing, so nothings really changing. How are you gonna get everyone to listen? There were a few people that sort of talked about that, but was it enough? Probably not.

SD Storm (15)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that no cows were harmed or died during the crazy storm that hit South Dakota last weekend on our farm. My parents and grandparents lost power for several days, but they had a generator to run as needed and after the storm, it really wasn’t that cold. By the time I got home Friday, most of the snow was gone, just the snow plow piles and major drifts. All the trees around the farm look like a monster was stomping around and broke all the branches. Mom and I drove to Faith yesterday and still saw many cows dead along the fences or in ravines, it was really sad. It’s really fortunate that no one died, to my knowledge, but a lot of people lost a large portion of their livelihood.

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would tell you that a friend sent me this article on Modern Farmer about being a farmer’s daughter. I definitely had similar moments like Janet MacDonald and get Kristin’s conflict. It’s a very interesting thing living in a place like New York City having grown up on a farm in rural South Dakota. People finding it intriguing, don’t believe it and/or can fathom it, and some find it makes perfect sense. It is also two very opposites that create conflict in your values and beliefs. One thing I have noticed I do, is point out that my dad went to college for dairy science and production, so did my brother, because sometimes I get the feeling people think farmers are uneducated or destroying the land with no idea, much like the ditzy farmer’s daughter image, and that is simply not true. Anyway, it will be interesting to see what happens with these new reality TV shows they are talking about…

SD Storm (7)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that yesterday I got to visit my friend Brenda and her newborn baby girl in the hospital yesterday. Britta Lou was barely 24 hours old and adorable. Yes, I held a baby, it got a bit heavy after awhile. I took my mom with so she could get her baby fix. It might be a while before she has grand kids. She said she’s being patient.  Congratulations to Brenda and Austin! I hope Grant is a great big brother:) I’ll have to stop by again soon!

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I am no closer to figuring out where I am going to be, but I am hoping to figure it out soon…

