Road Trip | The Kimbell Art Museum [ and Picasso]

Kimball (12)On my way back to South Dakota from Austin, I took a slightly more direct route heading straight north.  I made a stop in Fort Worth to see the Kimbell Art Museum. Even people who didn’t go to architecture school have heard of Louis Kahn’s beautiful work. I was so excited to see that I could make it part of my long drive home, I mean how many times am I going to be driving through Fort Worth? Not too many I don’t think… Anyway it was awesome. I didn’t have a ton of time since I was driving 10 hours that day, but I was still able to experience the museum and an amazing exhibit,

It may not look like much on the exterior, but it's a sexy building

It may not look like much on the exterior, but it’s a sexy building

Lower level Stairs

Lower level Stairs

I was able to take pictures outside of the exhibit but not inside. Not like they actually do it any justice. The light is amazing. The galleries are lite by skylights above that bounce off fins directly below them and wash light down the light concrete arched walls. (Did I mention how much I love concrete?) There is artificial lighting as well, but I got ridiculously excited when I realized that some clouds passed over the sun. I loved the little courtyard in the middle of the gallery space with a fountain. Anyone could go out there, sit and relax. I just loved it all, I wish I had more time there. Yeah. I know. I was archigeeking out hard core. And I didn’t really even see the new Piano Pavilion across the lawn. It will open at the end of November and they are doing construction outside, so I didn’t see much of it.

Lobby

Lobby

Courtyard Fountain nestled between gallery spaces

Courtyard Fountain nestled between gallery spaces

Vaults meeting in courtyard

Vaults meeting in courtyard

I also got to geek out on the art. The current exhibit was: The Age of Picasso and Matisse: Modern Masters from the Art Institute of Chicago. I really enjoy Picasso, Cubism, and Surrealism.  One of the first paintings I saw was Picasso’s Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler. It was amazing. The painting looks flat in the image but it has so much depth and is very beautiful. I could have looked at it forever. It was by far my favorite.

Another piece that I really enjoyed was Jacques Lipchitz’s Seated Figure. It is a wonderful cubist sculpture.

There were three other pieces that really stood out to me. Another Picasso piece called Still Life. Again there so much depth to the painting that the image fails to convey.

Franz Marc‘sThe Bewitched Mill, the colors are so much brighter than this image. 

Last, but not least, Natalia Goncharova’s Spanish Dancer. The detail of the dress is exquisite.

As an added treat, across the street is the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth which has a large Richard Serra piece in front. I am also a big fan of his. I didn’t go in the museum, but I did spend some time checking out the piece before hopping in the car and speeding away.

Vortex

Vortex

inside

inside

Inside

Inside

Kimball (20)

I would love to spend more time at the Kimbell Art Museum and check out the Modern Art Museum as well. It would be great to see new pavilion when it opens. I guess I just need another reason to spend more time in Texas sometime soon.