Sunday Afternoon Virtual Coffee Date |Twenty

If were having coffee this afternoon, we would be discussing my trip to San Francisco that I just returned from an hour ago. I returned again for Architecture for Humanity’s Design Like You Give a Damn Live! I met up with multiple old New York friends at the conference. Some are still in New York, some have left like me to various corners of the country. The conference was great, great talks, discussion and project. But it was kind of odd because I am not directly involved in the organization at this time and I kind of felt like I was on the outside watching. Just more fuel, I suppose, to figure out what I want to be doing.

AFHny representing at DLYGAD Live!

AFHny representing at DLYGAD Live!

If were were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you about Iris’s adorable apartment on Golden Gate Park. She was one of my first friends in Brooklyn and she moved to China a year after I arrived in New York. She just moved back to the States and found herself on the west coast. She took me to a Comedy Show curated by a blog, the Muni Diaries, which is all stories about the terrible or weird or violent and occasional happy incidents on San Francisco’s public transportation system. It included a Haiku battle that was hilarious and disgusting at times. The defender was dethroned and we had a good laugh.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you it was hard to leave 70 degree weather behind and return to freezing temperatures. (But I was still excited to land in Montana.) I didn’t need a coat at all while I was there except for last night when we stayed out late and it got pretty cold, but still only required a light jacket. When ever we could we were outside enjoying the sunshine. I would tell you that on my second trip to San Francisco I managed to ride their public transportation, without any issues, but you really can’t understand a thing they say and I may have messed up paying once since nothing is clear, but the system itself is pretty easy to figure out. I did fail again on this trip to get to Oakland, ride an old trolley car or get some sourdough bread. Next time.
If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you to listen to this edition of “This American Life” about fiascoes. It was hilarious, especially the first story about the Peter Pan production. I really need to start listen to them more often. I listened to three one night when I was over music and needed something to work to while finishing some freelance work up.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you to check out my friends post on well intentioned, but oh-so-not-helpful advice given to us single people from those happily coupled up.  She hits it head on. And I love the gifs.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that Halloween was a blast. I helped my friend, Brandon, with his Van Gogh costume. Thursday night was good, but I added some concealer to the mix for the face paint on Friday and it looked much better. My Medusa costume worked pretty well and was really simple. The only thing was that I wanted the wooden snakes to move more and they didn’t really wobble around at all. Lesson learned. Should have just had more little plastic ones all over in my hair. The best costume that I saw Thursday night was a girl who looked exactly like Michael Jackson, she was fabulous. On Friday it was a friend of a friend who was an adorable life size teddy  bear.

His make up looked better in person.

His make up looked better in person.

Sun20 (2)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would ask you if you remember the book, Ender’s Game My friend Daryl said to me, “Hey Jenn, your a geek, did you read Ender’s Game? Do you want to go see the movie?” Did I read it, yes and I loved it. Did I remember it, not so much, it was at least 10 years ago. Did I want to see the movie? Yep. It was good, I don’t remember the book so much and I want to go back and read it. Daryl was talking about things that were different or missing. It was a long story and I know they completely cut parts out about his sister and brother, so I am excited to read it again. And read the other books in the series that I didn’t way back when. 

If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I am freaking out a bit about various things. It’s all going to come together eventually… right? I’m going to keep telling the rest of the voices in my head that and if everyone else keeps sending me good vibes, hopefully it will come true.

