Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts

I hope everyone had a great long weekend and Thanksgiving! I went home for the first time after spending six away. I made a few great things while I was there and I am going to share a few of them here.  The first ones are the side dishes I made for Thanksgiving.

Because I am an uber geek, I get weekly emails from Cooking Light that typically have a string of recipes for you to try. The week before Thanksgiving was recipes with sweet potatoes. And I love sweet potatoes, so I went through all of them and picked one, Streuseled Sweet Potato Casserole, for Thanksgiving dinner. We were going to have regular, savory, mashed potatoes, so I decided to go with a sweeter recipe with the sweet potatoes and no marshmallows. This recipe could be dessert. It was so good. I only made a couple modifications because I was cutting the recipe in half. Sadly some people do not share my enthusiasm for sweet potatoes or cannot eat them right now due to diets. I did not half the egg or streusel topping. I also used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half because we didn’t have half and half. I might have used a bit of skim milk to cut it a bit, but I don’t remember. If I did, I didn’t use much. Either way it was really easy to make and maybe even more delicious as a leftover. Make it for Christmas, you will love it.

The second recipe is one that I sent to my mom weeks before Thanksgiving telling her we would be making it. The recipe, Citrus and Pomegranate Brussels Sprouts, is from A Beautiful Mess, one of the blogs I follow. Another easy recipe to make that was really delicious. I love pomegranate seeds and since semi growing up, I also love Brussels sprouts. It is also very pretty. I hope you give it a try as well at Christmas.

2013 Tday

Streuseled Sweet Potato Casserole

Makes about 8 to 10 side servings

  • 7 cups (1-inch) cubed peeled sweet potato (about 2.5 pounds)
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chilled butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Place potato in a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 12 minutes or until tender. Drain.
  3. Combine the cream, syrup, vanilla, salt and egg in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk.
  4. Add potato to egg mixture; beat with a mixer at medium speed until smooth. Spoon potato mixture into a 9 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.
  5. Combine flour and sugar in a food processor; pulse to combine. Add chilled butter; pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in pecans; sprinkle over potato mixture.
  6. Cover and bake at 375° for 15 minutes. Uncover and bake an additional 25 minutes or until the topping is browned and the potatoes are thoroughly heated.

Citrus and Pomegranate Brussels Sprouts

  • 6-7 cups Brussels sprouts
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 lemons
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds
  • salt + pepper
  1. Slice the Brussels sprouts in half. Coat the Brussels in the olive oil. Place the sprouts cut side down on a baking sheet and bake at 375°F for 12-15 minutes.
  2. Combine the sprouts with the bread crumbs and a little salt + pepper. Butter a baking dish and pour the sprouts into the dish. Bake at 375°F for another 15-20 minutes.
  3. Squeeze on some lemon juice and sprinkle on the pomegranate seeds just before serving.

Enjoy!

