Christmas Skiing in the Black Hills

Ski Bunnies

Ski Bunnies

Since my brother wasn’t going to be home until late on Christmas day and I got new skis, I suggested my sisters and my cousin go skiing. We would have gone on a different day, but it was the only day that would work for us all to go. We had a blast. The day was beautiful and sunny.  This year the snow has been good so far, so while they do groom some trails, there was still a lot of powder. It was a good time to be up skiing. There were a lot of people in the tube park area, but the ski mountain was pretty empty and we had it mostly to ourselves.

Looking back towards home from the lift

Looking back towards home from the lift

Rachael had been skiing and snowboarding before, but neither of my sisters had been before, so we were going to have to teach them how. Our dad taught me to ski when I was in middle school, but we only went a couple times a year, and after the first year or two, he typically didn’t go, but he still has all the gear, so who knows why they never learned. We decided to go up to Deer Mountain, now known as Ski Mystic, which is the same place I learned.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Your new ski instructor: me.

We started on the bunny bunny hill trying to teach them how learning how to pizza and french fry our skis. Kristen is a natural, I don’t know that we even really need to tell her anything.

Danielle was not quite so natural.

Wipe out

Wipe out

We told her everything we could think of, and then left her to practice with out us telling her what to do, figuring not having an audience might help, and headed up the big hill.

On the way up

On the way up

Kristen did a really great job and only fell a few times. We even got her down some blue runs. The best moment was when we had a slightly steep part on a blue run and she ate it at the top. She got back up and just as she started down, she fell back on her butt, but on her skis and kept going down. She screamed the whole way and said “I can’t stop!” before finally biffing it again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe took a break for hot chocolate, snacks and to catch up with Danielle. She said that she was getting a bit better, but on one of her last runs before stopping, she twisted her ankle. She decided she was done for the day, and since there was only an hour left for the day, she stayed warm in the lodge while we got a few more runs in.

I wish we could do things like that more frequently all together. It was so much fun. Although we may need to switch to cross country skiing for Danielle’s sake.

