Peanut Brittle

My mom called me before Christmas to ask me if I wanted to make some peanut brittle for grandpa. I had more free time. She told me the recipe was fool proof. in fact her exact words in the email were, “This is really easy and I have never had it fail.” I couldn’t screw it up. Well I screwed it up.

FAIL

FAIL

Maybe for the better though. I don’t really like peanut brittle, too brittle for me. This stuff never set up and was kinda taffy like instead. And I really liked it. Grandpa and dad were happy with it too. The problem is, I don’t really know what I did wrong. We think maybe my ancient microwave wasn’t powerful enough, so perhaps you can just under cook it to get the same consistency. Or cook it on a lower power level. I’m not sure I should try again because I will eat it all and that won’t be good for my jean size.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFailed Peanut Brittle

Yields about 1 pound

  • 1 ½ cups raw  shelled peanuts, skins on  Dad says to use dry roasted
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • ½ cup light corn syrup
  • 1/8 teas salt optional
  • 1 teas butter
  • 1 teas vanilla extract
  • 1 teas baking soda
  1. Stir together peanuts, sugar, syrup, and salt in a 1 ½ quart microwave safe container.
  2. Microwave 4 minutes on HIGH; stir, microwave 4 more minutes. 
  3. Stir in butter and vanilla.  Microwave 2 minutes longer on HIGH. 
  4. Add baking soda and quickly stir until light and foamy. 
  5. Immediately pour onto lightly greased baking sheet, spread to ¼ inch thickness.
  6. When cool break into pieces or in my case, cut into pieces. Store in airtight container (if the chewy kind, store between sheets of wax or parchment paper. 

Enjoy!

