Sunday Afternoon Coffee [Twenty-five]

If we were having coffee this afternoon I would apologize for missing last week. I was moving. And skiing. And watching football. It was a busy weekend and I was exhausted by the end of it. Even the crazy excitement of the two Seahawks fans we were watching the game with was not enough to get me motivated to write last Sunday.

Speaking of football, who else was sad to see Auburn loose to Florida State in the National Championship game? Since a couple of my good friends in New York are from Auburn, they kind of became my unofficial college team and I watched the game with a couple friends. Great game. Sad ending. Then I had to watch the Colts get whipped by the Patriots. And I really really dislike the Patriots. At least they didn’t make it to Superbowl either. And I got to watch these games at my friend office, which happens to have a huge home theater. Looking forward to the Superbowl party.

Sunday 25 (3)If we were coffee this afternoon I would tell you that I really enjoy watching hockey. There used to be a minor league team here when I was in school that we would go watch. They have since left, but one of my friends from Minnesota plays on a local league here so we have gone to watch him play. A couple weeks ago the middle schoolers he coaches were playing and we went to see them. Even they are fun to watch and they won. Kinda makes me want to learn to skate. And maybe figure out how to play some hockey.

Sunday 25 (2)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you that I saw American Hustle and loved it. The costumes, the cinematography, the cast, all of it. Especially Jennifer Lawrence, she is so damn good. It was not what I was expecting at all, but it was great. I also saw The Way Way Back. Loved it as well. Steve Carell is rapidly becoming one of my old actor crushes.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about how much I suck at Bingo. Yes I realize that it doesn’t really require much skill,but I never get anywhere close to winning. The first Tuesday of the month, R Bar has Bingo with a $800 prize for the final game.  There were five or six games and I was no where close to winning. 

Sunday 25 (1)If we were having coffee this afternoon, I would tell you to check out this parenthood guide, even though you may not have kids and I am not a fan of them. It’s according to Tina Fey and Amy Poelher. Enough said.

If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would talk about have beautiful the last week has been. I was driving around with the the sun roof open yesterday. The only bad thing was that the snow was melting. But it’s snowing again today and in the forecast a couple times this week, so up to the mountain we will be running next weekend.

photo 1If we were having coffee this afternoon, we would be talking about all the crazy things that happened last night. My original plans fell through, so I went downtown with a couple of the guys for what was only suppose to be a drink or two at Copper.

Campfire Whiskey

Campfire Whiskey

It was one of their friends birthday, so after Copper, we went to wish them a happy birthday and ran into another friend who is basically a rocket scientist at MSU and probably one of the funniest people ever. At some point in time I was told we couldn’t leave until after the Madonna song and walk off. It came on, they cleared the center of the bar and several guys strutted up and down the “catwalk”. People walking in the bar, were cheered into prancing their way down to get in. It was hilarious. I didn’t think this could be topped. By the time this ended, the big Lady Antebellum concert was done and more friend were downtown for us to meet. We ended up shutting down the bars and needing food, so a group of us headed to Perkins. Pretty sure I have not been to Perkins since leaving Bozeman six years ago and it was probably after a night out. There was six of us. The boys had been singing all night and now was not the time to stop. Disney songs and love ballads are a large part of their routine. The two couples in the booth next to us were also enjoying the sing-a-long and said they wanted to join us so Meagan just grabbed the table and pulled it up to theirs.  Time of My Life, Magic Carpet Ride, Hakuna Matata, Part of your World, some Garth Brook and Eagle Eye Cherry,  and several others were belted out for the whole restaurant to hear.  We even got our poor waiter, who was actually good, to sing some Aladdin with us. It was amazing. We were eventually asked to stop singing because some people are grumpy drunks and couldn’t enjoy the merriment. It didn’t really make us any quieter. And the joke was made that this must be where Don McLean went for the music to die as I was taking a bite of eggs which I ended up choking on because I was laughing so hard. I was trying to drink some water to stop coughing when another joke was made and the water ended up coming out my nose. One of the last times I was at Perkins, my friends had me laughing so hard, hot chocolate came out my nose. It must be the thing for me to do at Perkins at 3 AM.  I don’t know if it sounds as fun in text, but it was one for the books, ridiculous and will never be replicated. Too bad I didn’t record some of it.

