Cross Country Skiing

xc skiing (1)One of the reasons I wanted to move from New York City was because I missed getting to play outdoors as much. I did bike a lot, and we did get up hiking or skiing once and awhile.  More than once, a cross country skiing day has come up. Dusty finally said it was happening last Saturday and I better be there.

xc skiing (4)Saturday was beautiful. Sunny, warm, no wind, perfect day. We were driving around with the sun roof open. We were kinda worried that the snow would be melted. We didn’t need a heavy coat, or a coat really at all and were wearing our jogging cloths. We rented gear: skis, boots and poles, from Chalet Sports and headed out to Bridger Creek Golf Course to try this sport out.

xc skiing (7)Now, I had only tried this once around 10 years ago. Dusty, Katie and  Will had never been before. I barely remembered what we were suppose to be doing. Having the groomed trails and tracks helped us stay up right, although occasionally the snow was more ice. We were pretty slow going as we tried to figure it out. I never really figured out turning and stopping was still a problem too. I did manage to be the only one who didn’t fall, much to Dusty’s dismay.

Dusty before he realized what it was like to fall over and over

Dusty before he realized what it was like to fall over and over

Still upright

Still upright

We spent about two hours out there having a blast and made it around 4 miles. Slow, yes. But after we dropped off our skis, we went to the Bozone tasting room for a couple beers and realized how much work we actually did, how tired we were and how hungry it made us.

adorable white boots and skinny skis

adorable white boots and skinny skis

It was a perfect day. We all had a great time and want to do it again. I may be splitting my time next winter between downhill and cross country. And I still need to try snowshoeing.

One thought on “Cross Country Skiing

Comments are closed.