Red Frame | Easy DIY

When I left New York, I got rid of most of my stuff, but not art work. I did give away, sell or toss most of the frames though. I also collected new prints and photos during all my adventures over the summer. One of the first things I brought to Bozeman from my parents was my boxes of art work. Even though I wasn’t sure I was going to stay here, I need to look at something besides blank walls, so I need to find some frames.

My friend K, gave me a large map of Brooklyn when I left. (Side note: I love these gift wraps! Does anyone actually wrap a gift with it???) I gave my brother the same print and helped him pick out a frame for it that was red. It looked really good. I wanted a red frame too.  But, I wasn’t finding any large poster sized red frames, so I decided to make one.

Supplies

Supplies

I picked up a cheap poster frame at Michaels and some spray paint.  Now, you really shouldn’t do this inside or if you do have great , but it was/is really cold out, soooo… Anyway, I used a dollar store table cloth to protect the floor and moved everything far away. I also found some cardboard to prop the frame off the floor so I could get the sides covered well.

Protect, Prop, & Sand

Protect, Prop, & Sand

I grabbed some fine sand paper and roughed up the surface a bit and followed the directions on can of paint. I ended up putting on three coats of paint and was sure to let each one dry for at least a half hour between each one. I let it dry overnight before moving it. Then let it dry again for another day before putting everything back together.

Second Coat

Second Coat

Now it’s hanging up looking pretty good. That was easy. Why did I spend so much time at way to many different stores looking for frames?

I need a new camera, but the color looks great!

I need a new camera, but the color looks great!

One thought on “Red Frame | Easy DIY

Comments are closed.