Thrift Shop Oscar Party Recap

As many of you know, the Oscars were two Sundays ago. For the past few years, my friend Christine has hosted a viewing party in Brooklyn that has always been fun and involved many tasty treats. I have always enjoyed these parties and wanted to do something with friend here in Montana. At some other gathering some of us started talking about them and I proposed we have a party. Mikki was kind enough to offer to host. Then the idea was thrown out that we all must come dressed in red carpet attire, Thrift Shop Red Carpet Attire.

The whole crew

The whole crew

Everyone looked great and got into the theme. Winston, the bulldog was dressed up. There was even a red carpet and an Oscar for best (worst) dressed. Robin wore a pantsuit we found at salvation army and was my date for the evening. M helped me get my hair up high for the occasion and acted as our proud mother before we left for the party.

I love this series of us trying not crack up taking these pictures

I love this series of us trying not crack up taking these pictures, Robin looks great in all of them!

At the party, I dumped Robin for our friend Brandon, because our costumes matched, then went back to her. It was all very high school.

It was his fluffy shirt that won my high school heart over. We needed instructions on how to stand & again, very hard to be serious.

It was his fluffy shirt that won my high school heart over. We needed instructions on how to stand & again, very hard to be serious.

You may wonder were I found such a crazy dress. The answer, is my little sister.  It is her prom dress from four years ago that I called the Candyland Queen dress or Cotton Candy Dress. I had my parents throw it in the car with all my stuff. This thing is huge. It is bright. It is amazing. I had to stuff the top with three pairs of socks, and it still wasn’t enough. I took home the Oscar for best dressed. 

Oscar party (26)The whole this was awesome and fun and I have to admit that I didn’t pay as much attention to the Oscars as I normally do. (It was also my friend Ben’s birthday, so we were celebrating that at the same time.) And I am keeping that dress for Halloween this year. 

 

3 thoughts on “Thrift Shop Oscar Party Recap

  1. Melissa Graveline

    Fun party! And I LOVE your dress :) Although I think you cheated and did not get your outfit from the thrift store and your title should be revoked. But I’m a stickler for the rules! Y’all might be a little more lax in the west!

  2. Pingback: Bourbon Soaked Birthday Cake | Perishable Item

Comments are closed.