A2 Updates

Apt  (1)I know at least one person, okay maybe only one person, who reads this thing has been patiently waiting for me to share plans and some updates on my little Bozeman apartment. There is a pretty big list of to do’s and DIY’s before I will really be happy with it, but it’s looking better with each little project I do. Some of them will have to wait for spring when I can take things outside and paint them after the snow melts.

Apt A2I’ve keep the main color palette pretty neutral in greys and blacks and used accessories and decorative items to add color punches. I’m not sure if they come through in the pictures below, but I like it so far. I was thinking of sticking with one color family, but since nothing in color is a huge item, I have just been using all bright colors. I will admit to being swayed towards the teal/blue family a bit though.

The kitchen and my bedroom are the most complete rooms in the place. I want to hang a few things on the wall in the kitchen and refinish the island. This is priority number one once it warms up enough. Otherwise I love all the little color pieces I have in there. And I kind of want to get another Ikea sheepskin to cut in half and put on the stools. I love the one Melissa sent me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn the bedroom I will need to get a real dresser sooner or later. I also have my eye on some curtains for the bedroom. I love my bedroom right now. Maybe it’s just that I love my new mattress so much, but it is my favorite room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe bathroom is probably the next best room to me. I love the color of the rugs and shower curtain Robin basically picked out for me. I am also in love with the shells I found on Martha’s Vineyard that I use for jewelry. I am not a big fan of the wall color, though I think the blue color scheme works well in there and it annoys me less. I just can’t stand the cabinet over the toilet. It is so glaringly white, but it would be a pain to paint because it’s a veneer. I might also paint the little vanity. These are low on the to do list, unless it drives me crazy enough to bump it up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe living room needs the right furniture, which will probably be a while. And the closet in there is so damn big. I am basically ignoring the one door and will continue to put the TV or something in front of one of the doors for now. My birthday present to myself will probably be a flat screen TV, the first TV I will ever buy. My parents gave me that huge box one for now. I also have and idea for a credenza that it will sit on, just need to give my friend the money and go ahead to build it. I would love to get a couch like this in there and move the futon to the office, but for right now it works. I want to really like the pieces of furniture that I get and purchase ones that will last, so it may be slow going.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe office is the mess, it was full of boxes up until a couple weeks ago.  I finally put my “desk” (my old portable drafting board on two sawhorses) before my friend M showed up to stay with me. I had to get the boxes out of there so the air mattress had some place to go. I was going to clean off the “desk” and deflate the air mattress before taking pictures then was too lazy. Plus this is an update not a final showing. I have several things that will go on the walls, just need to get them framed and decide where they are going.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo here is the current to do list:

  1. Get a light fixture for living room corner.
  2. Refinish the island in same grey paint as little dresser.
  3. Finish organizing office- get all boxes out!
  4. Get office art framed.
  5. Get the door that is to be the headboard from home, strip and refinish.
  6. Replace cabinet door knobs in bathroom.
  7. Do something about the light fixture in the bedroom and living room maybe kitchen too.
  8. Spray paint tops of sawhorses- gold? green? purple? ombre it?  or just get a real desk made to match future credenza, top choice.
  9. Get a dresser.
  10. Take off bedroom closet doors and replace with curtains.
  11. Get stuff to organize insanely large living room closet.
  12. Get a tv credenza.
  13. Get flat screen TV.
  14. Paint bathroom walls or white cupboard
  15. refinish library cart (on the to-do list since I got it like 3 years ago…)
  16. Get a modern couch.
  17. Reupholster Nintendo chair- or get a real chair.
  18. Repair trunk.
  19. Repaint bathroom vanity

That’s a lot. I kinda wish I hadn’t written it all out, yikes. Wish me luck and stay tuned for the DIY’s as I go!

2 thoughts on “A2 Updates

  1. mvj

    Two people! You have two people who like to hear about updates. And slowly but surely I am positive that you will make your adorable little apartment even more adorable. :)

  2. Melissa Graveline

    Woo hoo! Thank you so much for posting! I love to imagine I have been there and know all about your life :) I LOOOOOOVE your plans for the credenza! Gorgeous! It will be a much better solution than two kitchen stools :) And there is So. Much. Space. I am in awe! Lots of room for guests!!!!

Comments are closed.