Director’s Chair Update | DIY

I forgot all the random stuff that I left at my parents when I moved to New York. I figured anything that was left would have been taken by my sibling. One of the things that was left behind was a director’s chair from Pier One. It was my old desk chair and until I found some thing better, I decided it would be again. I wasn’t a fan of the faded blue seat and back, so I decide it was time for some DIY.

I realize that I could have just replaced them, but where is the fun in that. Instead I picked up some paint and debated a pattern. I was going to do dots, but decided I would definitely mess them up and I would probably get sick of them. So I decided to go with a random taped pattern and I wouldn’t mind if the edge wasn’t perfect.

So here are your supplies for this easy little project:

  • fabric paint, I used Martha Stewart
  • paint brush
  • painters tape
  • something with a flat hard edge, like a credit card or paint scraper

Step One: Wash your fabric seat and back. Place it on a flat surface.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStep Two: Tape your lines. I did this pretty randomly, as you can see, but you could do this perfectly straight if you wanted. Use your straight edge to smooth down the tape to seal it to the fabric. I was actually really surprised by how crisp the line edges were. I didn’t think it would be so good, which is part of the reason why I avoided the dots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStep Three: Paint! I needed two coats to cover the blue. This paint dries pretty fast, so I was able to flip the pieces over and paint them within an hour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStep Four: Allow to fully dry and slowly pull the tape off the fabric.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPut the chair back together!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow the debate is do I paint the frame and if I do what color?

One thought on “Director’s Chair Update | DIY

Comments are closed.